Circulation Policies & Privileges


Circulation Privileges

Library materials may be used within the library by anyone. Law Library borrower cards or University of Colorado identification cards are required in order to check out law library materials. Only the person named on the card is allowed to use that card. Each borrower is responsible for all materials checked out in his or her name.

Many books circulate for the periods noted below. Some materials, e.g. DVDs and videos may have shorter loan periods.

Borrower Loan Period
CU Boulder Law School students8 weeks
CU Boulder faculty/staff16 weeks
CU Boulder graduate students8 weeks
All other borrowers4 weeks

Borrower Registration

To register as a borrower, present the following identification: a Colorado Driver's License or a State of Colorado identification card. Students attending a college or university in Colorado can present a student identification card and proof of current registration. If you use a P.O. Box or General Delivery as your primary mailing address, you must supply a secondary street address. We also require either a telephone number or email address.

As part of the Wise Law Library's participation agreement with the Colorado Library Card Program, the information on the Borrower Registration Form may be shared with other libraries participating in the Colorado Library Card Program to assist in the retrieval of materials and/or the collection of fines and fees.

Notices

'Courtesy' notices are sent out by email if there is a valid email address in the patron record. 'Courtesy' notices are sent out prior to the due date as a reminder that items are coming due.

Overdue notices are sent out by email if there is a valid email address in the patron record; otherwise, by U.S. Mail.

To prevent these notices from being marked as spam please configure your email program to accept messages from our email address, circadm at lawpac.colorado.edu.

Reserve Books: No Exit Policy

All books on Reserve in the Law Library are to be used on its premises.  They cannot be taken from the library for any reason except by law faculty members, or if the items are checked out within two hours of library closing time, or by special request.

Course Reserve books are to be used on premises; they cannot be taken from the library for any reason except by permission of the Law Faculty member(s) teaching the course.

No Reserve materials may be taken from the Law Library for copying purposes, for assistance in a class, or for any other reason, as noted above, without an express exception being made by law library administration.

Note that non-law CU Boulder campus faculty cannot take any Reserve or Library Use Only materials out of the Law Library without the express permission of the law library administration.

Returns

Please return all books to the Law Library. Patrons who return books to other Colorado Library Card libraries or other Boulder campus libraries are responsible for their loss or late return to the Wise Law Library. The Law Library will honor a Receipt Date stamped in the book by the receiving library but cannot guarantee that books will make it back to the Law Library in a timely fashion.

Renewals

Each book may be renewed at least once, unless it has been put on recall or hold for another patron. Books may be renewed at the Law Library or by using the online catalog, Lawpac. Choose "My Library Record" and you will then be prompted for your name and patron identification. For phone renewals call: (303) 492-7534.

Recalls and Holds

Patrons may place recalls and holds on Law Library books, with TWO RESTRICTIONS: 1) Books may not be recalled from Law School Faculty/Staff borrowers, and 2) CLC (Colorado Library Card) borrowers may place HOLDS ONLY (no recalls). Books may be recalled from any other library borrowers after 2 weeks.

Paying Fines

Fines can be paid anytime the library is open. We accept EXACT CHANGE cash payment or personal check. We are unable to make change in the library.

Fine Schedule

Reserve Items
Length of time overdueFine
Up to one hour$2.00 per item
Over one hour$2.00 per item per hour until closing. For each additional day the same charges apply, plus $2.00 per item, per day.
Recalled Items
Length of time overdueFine
Up to one day$2.00 per item
Over one day$2.00 per item per day.
Audio-Visual Items
Length of time overdueFine
Up to one day$2.00 per item
Over one day$2.00 per item per day.
Lost Items ***
TransactionCost
Item replacement charge$125.00 minimum ($150.00 for international law materials)
Item processing fee$10.00
Item billing fee$10.00
*** Books are declared lost after being 30 days overdue.

Additional charges may be incurred with the collection of delinquent fines and charges.

Borrowers with more than $20.00 in outstanding fines or lost book charges may be blocked from further circulation privileges.

CHECKS RETURNED FOR INSUFFICIENT FUNDS WILL BE ASSESSED A $20.00 CHARGE.

NOTICE: WE ARE REQUIRED BY STATE LAW TO REFER ALL PAST DUE LIBRARY FINES AND LOST BOOK REPLACEMENT CHARGES TO THE STATE OF COLORADO FOR COLLECTION.

STUDENTS ARE ASSESSED A 22% BURSAR COLLECTION FEE FOR ALL OVERDUE LAW LIBRARY CHARGES REFERRED TO THE BURSAR'S OFFICE.