Research Guides List | Databases List

Legal Research Guides
How to Research a Legal Problem: A Guide for Non-Lawyers
 
Basic Legal Research: Tools and Strategies, Amy E. Sloan (2012).
 
Legal Research: How to Find and Understand the Law
Treatises and Texts

General

American Jurisprudence 2d (AmJur)

Law in a Nutshell Series
Link to Catalog Search: http://ow.ly/b9TKY 
 
Self-Help Legal Books (Nolo Press)
Link to Catalog Search: http://ow.ly/aXIc7
SEE ALSO: Nolo Press Self-Help Legal Books handout (available at the Circulation Desk)
 

Colorado-Specific

Colorado Practice
 
Representing Yourself in Court
Represent Yourself in Court: How to Prepare and Try a Winning Case, Nolo Press.
 
Winning Big in Colorado Small Claims Court: How to Sue and Collect, Charles P. Brackney, (2002).
LAW READY REF  KFC 2321 .B73 2002
 
Everybody's Guide to Small Claims Court
LAW STACKS 1st floor  KF 8769 .Z9 E94
Basic Legal Forms

West's Legal Forms
LAW STACKS 2nd floor  KF 170 .W472 (Available on Westlaw)

Colorado Litigation Forms and Analysis
LAW COLORADO 2nd floor  KFC 2330 .A65 L441 (Available on Westlaw)

Free Online Resources

Colorado.gov – Includes links to websites for the governor, attorney general, state courts, state agencies, the legislature, and local codes.
http://www.colorado.gov/government/government/index.html

Colorado General Assembly – Offers links to the Colorado Revised statutes, court rules, the Colorado Constitution, the United States Constitution, and more.
http://www.leg.state.co.us

GPO Access – Provides free online access to the U.S. Code, the Code of Federal Regulations, Supreme Court opinions, and many other government publications.
http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys

Google Scholar -- Offers free case law and select law review articles.
http://scholar.google.com

Cornell’s Legal Information Institute (LII) -- Offers links to state and federal constitutions and codes, selected state and federal case opinions, legal research guides by topic, and basic legal citation examples.
http://www.law.cornell.edu/lii/get_the_law
 

The Public Library of Law -- Includes links to free online sources of case law, statutes, regulations, court rules, constitutions and legal forms.
http://www.plol.org/Pages/Search.aspx

Lawyer Referral Services
Metropolitan Lawyer Referral Service -- Trained staff can help you select an appropriate lawyer: 303-831-8000.
http://www.lawyerlegion.com/lawyer-referral-directory/colorado/metropolitan-lrs/

Find-A-Lawyer Directory (Colorado Bar Association) -- Provides contact information to those individuals looking for an attorney. NOTE: Not all licensed attorneys in the state of Colorado are members of the Colorado Bar Association. Bar association membership is voluntary. (50-record viewing maximum)
http://www.cobar.org/Find-a-lawyer

 

Colorado State Supreme Court Attorney Information Search -- Search this directory to find an attorney's status and disciplinary history. NOTE: An attorney must have a status of "active" and in good standing in order to practice law within the state of Colorado.

http://www.coloradosupremecourt.com/Search/AttSearch.asp
 

Martindale-Hubbell Find a Lawyer or Law Firm

http://www.martindale.com

Subject Specialist
Picture: Robert Linz

Robert Linz
Associate Director & Head of Public Services
Tel: 303 492-2504

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files