Research Guides List | Databases List

Introduction
This guide reviews the available resources and research methods for locating Colorado regulations, administrative law decisions, and attorney general opinions.
Research Methods
Typically, researchers do not begin researching Colorado Administrative Law unless they have already conducted some research analysis and have determined that their issue likely involves an agency or a rule. This could be the result of a cross-reference in a statute, case or secondary authority or based upon the researcher's experience with the issue. However, once researchers have determined a need to locate administrative authority, their research will likely involve a majority of the following research tasks:









Please see the Colorado Executive Branch guide for more information on determining and locating the state agency and the guide to Locating Colorado Regulations for step-by-step instructions on finding current, superseded and proposed regulations.
Colorado Regulations
Colorado rules and regulations are issued by state agencies, but only if the legislature has granted the agency the statutory authority to do so (referred to as the enabling legislation or enabling authority). Please see the Colorado Executive Branch guide for more information on the state agencies and how rules are promulgated. To find rules, see the guide to Locating Colorado Regulations

The promulgated rules are published in the Colorado Register and the Code of Colorado Regulations


Colorado Register

In addition to the final version of the rules, the CR contains proposed regulations, meeting notices and AG regulatory opinions. The CR is organized chronologically and is published twice a month (on the 10th and 25th). Since July 2007, the official version of the Colorado Register is the online version available from the Colorado Secretary of State's website, but it is also available in the library in print.

Colorado Register
Official Version from the Colorado Secretary of State's website.

Colorado Register
LAW RESERVE 2nd floor  KFC 1835 1977 .A231

Free E-Mail Notification Service
Free subscription email notification service to alert researchers when a new issue of the CR is published.


Code of Colorado Regulations

The Code of Colorado Regulations contains the final version of promulgated regulations as well as the history of each rule. Unlike the Colorado Register, the CCR is organized topically by agency. However, like the Colorado Register, the official version of the Code of Colorado Regulations is the online version available from the Colorado Secretary of State's website. The CCR is also available in print in the library, both the current and superseded versions of the rules.

Code of Colorado Regulations
Official Version from the Colorado Secretary of State's website.

The Code of Colorado Regulations
LAW RESERVE 2nd floor    KFC 1835 1977 .A22
Attorney General Opinions
The Attorney General serves as the state's attorney and provides legal advice to state agencies. Some of the opinions can provide an interpretation of Colorado law as it applies to an agency.


Regulatory Opinions

Colorado Register
Code of Colorado Regulations
Pursuant to the Administrative Procedure Act, the Attorney General must review new rules to ensure compliance with existing law. A copy of the regulatory opinion is published with the rule in the Colorado Register and all AG opinions since 2007 are linked from the rule in the online version of the CCR.


Other Opinions

AG Opinions
Researchers can browse and search AG Opinions from as far back as 1984 from the Attorney General's website. 

Colorado Attorney General Opinions
LAW MICROFORMS 1st floor  KFC 2240 .A55f
The AG Opinions are available in the library in microform dating back to 1967.
Agency Decisions
In addition to promulgating rules, state agencies often engage in quasi-judicial functions and adjudicate matters relating to the agency's rules or actions. These decisions can aid in understanding the application of the rules. 


Colorado Office of Administrative Courts

The Office of Administrative Courts (OAC) is Colorado's administrative court system that consists of Administrative Law Judges (ALJs) that hear many of these administrative cases, including workers' compensation, human services and licensing.

About the OAC
General Information about the Colorado administrative court system.

Laws, Rules & Procedures
The rules of procedure for the different types of matters heard at the OAC.

Workers' Compensation Statutes, Rules & Guidance
The OAC provides statutes, rules and guidance..


Individual Agencies

Colorado.gov: State Agencies
Decisions from other administrative cases may be available on the website of the administrative agency involved in the proceeding. Researchers can find the individual agencies from the Colorado.gov site.  For more detailed information on locating the agency, please see the Colorado Executive Branch guide.

If the agency's website does not contain decisions, researchers should contact the agency to determine if decisions are available.
Secondary Sources
Journal Articles

Candy Herring, The Code of Colorado Regulations Goes Global, 37 The Colorado Lawyer 49 (Feb. 2008)

Peter J. Gowen, Insights for Practicing Before Local Government Boards and Commissions in Colorado, 36 The Colorado Lawyer 53 (Nov. 2007)

Theresa Leming, Strategies for Finding Administrative Materials Online, 35 The Colorado Lawyer 109 (Aug. 2006)

 
Books and Treatises

Colorado Appellate Advocacy Deskbook
Chapter 14: Administrative Appeals
LAW COLORADO   KFC 2313 .A6 O33

Colorado Legal Research (2010)
Chapter 6: Administrative Law
LAW REFERENCE 2nd floor   KFC 1875 .L56 2010

Demystifying Administrative Law and Procedure in Colorado (1998)
LAW COLORADO 2nd floor    KFC 2240 .Z9 B87 1998 

A Day in the Life of an Administrative Hearing (1995)
LAW COLORADO 2nd floor   KFC 2240 .Z9 C63 1995

Colorado Administrative Law Practice (1994)
LAW COLORADO 2nd floor    KFC 2240 .Z9 C63 1994 


Periodicals

Annual Survey of Colorado Law
LAW COLORADO 2nd floor    KFC 1870 .A56
The first section of the survey covers developments in Colorado Administrative Law for the year, including regulatory development and citations to some administrative cases.
Other Useful Resources
Rules and Notices of Rulemaking
The Colorado Secretary of State website provides a list of some of the Proposed Rules and Notices of Rulemaking.

Email Updates
The Colorado Secretary of State allows researchers to sign up to receive rule updates by email or through a social media account.

Colorado Secretary of State Newsroom
This page of the Colorado Secretary of State website provides news about the department, including press releases, court cases, open records requests and current issues. Researchers can also sign up to receive Newsroom email updates.

Audio Broadcasts
The Colorado Secretary of State provides audio recordings of many official hearings, including rulemaking hearings.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Robert Linz

Robert Linz
Associate Director & Head of Public Services
Tel: 303 492-2504