GENERAL RESOURCES
UCB Office of the Vice Chancellor for Research's Funding and Awards Website: http://www.colorado.edu/vcr/fundingawards.  Portal for internal and external funding sources.

University Libraries' Grants and Grant Writing Research Guidehttp://ucblibraries.colorado.edu/how/grants.htm.   

Wise Law Library book resource: http://lawpac.colorado.edu/record=b135300.

Karen Cantrell & Denise Wallen, Funding for Law: Legal Education, Research & Study (Oryx Press, 1991)
​LAW REFERENCE 2nd floor  KF 266 .C36 1991
"Detailed descriptions of 497 funding sources available in the US, including fellowships for law school as well as grants for legal research and for legal services to community organizations and the underprivileged."  This is an older text, but many of the grant funding organizations it mentions are still operating.
SPECIFIC RESOURCES: Internal (campus) Funding
(1) The Office of the Vice Chancellor for Research coordinates these funding programs: http://www.colorado.edu/vcr/fundingawards.  Contact: Lisa Kippur, Executive Assistant to the Vice Chancellor for Research, 303-492-2890 or lisa.kippur@colorado.edu.
 
 
  • Distinguished Research Lecture ($1,500).  "The lectureship honors a tenured faculty member widely recognized for a distinguished body of academic or creative achievement and prominence, as well as contributions to the educational and service missions of CU-Boulder.  Normally, one Distinguished Research Lectureship is awarded each year. The recipient presents a lecture in the fall or spring following selection and receives a $1,500 honorarium."
  • Faculty Conference Awards (up to $3,000).  "The VCR awards a limited number of grants to support planning and hosting conferences at CU-Boulder on an ongoing basis throughout the year.  Conference grants provide partial support for organizing conferences that promote and encourage the scholarship, research and creative work of the Boulder campus faculty. These awards are intended to support one-time or initial events, rather than established and/or annual events."
  • Innovative Seed Grant Program (up to $50,000).  "The projects may take a variety of forms but must represent an investment in the future research, scholarly, or artistic vitality of the university and demonstrate promise for expansion of the project goals in the future. The projects can come from any discipline at the university, with those involving interdisciplinary work that will foster interaction among CU faculty particularly welcome.  The 2013 Innovative Seed Grant Competition resulted in 19 new grants for a total of $870,000 being awarded to Boulder faculty across all disciplines."
  • Limited Campus Competitions.  "Throughout the year, the Office of the Vice Chancellor for Research administrates several limited campus competitions. These competitions are required because several private foundations and national governmental agencies only allow a limited number of nominees from invited institutions, like CU.  The review process is conducted by an elite group of faculty who are invited by the Vice Chancellor for Research to serve on the OVCR Review Board. Based on their evaluations, nominees are selected to compete for these limited awards."
 
(2) The Graduate Committee on the Arts and Humanities (GCAH) (2 grants for research and travel of up to $3,000 each, and 1 grant to secure a visiting scholar of up to $1,500): http://www.colorado.edu/ArtsSciences/CHA/grants/gcah.html.  Contact: Lisa Bailey in the Center for Humanities and the Arts, 303-735-0237 or lisa.bailey@colorado.edu.

GCAH provides support for individual research or creative work, special events, travel to further research or creative work, travel to present such research or creative work at venues that enhance one’s research and creative activity, and short visits by scholars and artists from outside the University.  Upon recommendation of the GCAH, the Dean of the Graduate School offers the following grants/awards:
 
  • Research/Creative Work grants (up to $3,000)
  • Special Event grants (up to $3,000)
  • Visiting Scholar/Artist grants (up to $1,000 for U.S. and up to $1,500 for international visitors).
 
All awards made by GCAH are contingent upon the availability of funds.  The Committee uses the National Endowment for the Humanities' definition of the humanities:

“The term ‘humanities’ includes, but is not limited to, the study of the following: language, both modern and classical; linguistics; literature; history; jurisprudence; philosophy; archaeology; comparative religion; ethics; the history, criticism and theory of the arts; those aspects of social sciences which have humanistic content and employ humanistic methods; and the study and application of the humanities to the human environment with particular attention to reflecting our diverse heritage, traditions, and history and to the relevance of the humanities to the current conditions of national life.”
SPECIFIC RESOURCES: External Funding
Through its Office of Contracts and Grants (OCG), the Office of the Vice Chancellor for Research coordinates all externally funded sponsored research. The OCG website: http://www.colorado.edu/vcr/ocg.  Also, through its Office of Research Integrity (ORI), the Office of the Vice Chancellor for Research ensures compliance with standards and regulations for scientific and ethical integrity in research.  The ORI website: http://www.colorado.edu/vcr/ori.
  • Joan Eaton, Senior Manager, Pre-Award Services of the Office of Contracts and Grants, is assigned to Law and is available to consult with Colorado Law faculty on proposal preparation and submission. Her office requires a minimum of 5 business days lead time.  Her phone number is: 303-492-2691 and email: joan.eaton@colorado.edu.

Colorado

Colorado Grants Guide (annual, subscription-based): "The Colorado Grants Guide is Colorado’s leading online tool for funding research. The searchable online database allows grantseekers to research funders that support a specific area of interest, geographic location or type of grant. This comprehensive resource guide contains over 750 profiles of local foundations and trusts, corporations, national funders, government agencies and religious organizations that support Colorado nonprofit organizations."  It must be accessed on-site in Norlin Library.

National

U.S. Government resources
 
Law and Social Sciences Program (LSS) at the National Science Foundation (NSF): Contact: Dr. Susan Sterett from the University of Denver's Political Sciences Department is on leave from DU until Fall of 2014 to serve as a Program Director.  Email: ssterett@nsf.gov. Phone: (703) 292-7267. Fax: (703) 292-9068.  Other contacts: Dr. Marjorie Zatz (Program Director), mzatz@nsf.gov, (703) 292-7808, and Allison Smith (Program Specialist), asmith@nsf.gov, (703) 292-7094. 
Program Solicitation (NSF 12-507) Guidelines:
http://www.nsf.gov/pubs/2012/nsf12507/nsf12507.pdf.
 
  • "The Law & Social Sciences Program at the National Science Foundation supports social scientific studies of law and law-like systems of rules. The program is inherently interdisciplinary and multi-methodological. Successful proposals describe research that advances scientific theory and understanding of the connections between law or legal processes and human behavior. Social scientific studies of law often approach law as dynamic, made in multiple arenas, with the participation of multiple actors. The program considers and funds proposals from many disciplinary perspectives, including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, legal scholarship, political science, public policy, psychology, and sociology."

To research ALL open federal government grants: "Grants.gov is an E-Government initiative operating under the governance of the Office of Management and Budget. The office was chartered in 2002 to deliver a system that provides a centralized location for grant seekers to find and apply for federal funding opportunities. Today, the Grants.gov system houses information on over 1,000 grant programs and vets grant applications for 26 federal grant-making agencies."
 
  • To track and manage Nat'l Science Foundation grants: "Research.gov is the National Science Foundation’s (NSF) grants management system that provides easy access to research-related information and grants management services in one location. Research.gov is the modernization of FastLane, providing the next generation of grants management capabilities for the research community."

To research ALL federal government grants that have been awarded previously: "USAspending.gov receives and displays data pertaining to obligations (amounts awarded for federally sponsored projects during a given budget period), not outlays or expenditures (actual cash disbursements made against each project). It is a single searchable website, accessible to the public, which includes for each Federal award: the name of the entity receiving the award; the amount of the award; information on the award including transaction type, funding agency, etc; the location of the entity receiving the award; and a unique identifier of the entity receiving the award."
 
Commercial resources

SPINPlus: Sponsored Programs Information Network (SPIN) Plus, a product of InfoEd, is a subscription database service that indexes funding programs (research grants, fellowships, publication support, sabbatical support, curriculum development, and more) from over 6,000 government, private, and nonprofit funding sources worldwide.  It may be accessed on campus or via CU VPN
SPIN Instruction Guide: SPINInstructions.pdf pdf 
 
Foundation Directory Online Plus: "The nation's leading online funding research database, developed by the Foundation Center, a national nonprofit service organization. Foundation Directory Online Plus includes grantmaker profiles for the top 10,000 foundations and detailed grant descriptions searchable by ZIP code, congressional district, and more."  It must be accessed on-site in Norlin Library.  The Foundation Center Online (free version): http://fdo.foundationcenter.org/ (no searching by Keyword or Fields of Interest).

The Chronicle of Philanthropy: "The Chronicle provides news and information for executives of tax-exempt organizations in health, education, religion, the arts, social services, and other fields, as well as fund raisers, professional employees of foundations, institutional investors, corporate grant makers, and charity donors. Along with news, it offers such service features as lists of grants and fundraising ideas and techniques."  Click on the Fundraising menu to Search Grant Deadlines.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Jane Thompson

Jane Thompson
Assistant Director for Faculty Services
Tel: 303 492-2705