Research Guides List | Databases List

Overview
Patent law grants exclusive rights to inventions that are new, useful, and not obvious. The holder of a patent has the right to exclude anyone else from making use of the patented invention without first getting permission from the holder. This guide provides a list of sources that will assist in learning about, studying, and practicing patent law. 
Quick Links

Introductory Resources

Martin J. Adelman et al., Patent Law in a Nutshell (LAW RESERVE, 2nd Floor, K 1505 .A34 2013)
Provides a description of the fundamentals of United States patent law. Topics covered include claim construction, obviousness, anticipation, written discription and enablement, infringement, and remedies. 

Alan L. Durham, Patent Law Essentials: A Concise Guide (LAW RESERVE, 2nd Floor, KF 3114.3 .D87 2013)
Explains the latest revisions to the protections and limitations of patent law, incudling recent Supreme Court decisions concerning the patentability of software, business methods, and advancements in biotech. 

Amy L. Landers, Understanding Patent Law (LAW RESERVE, 2nd Floor, KF 3114 .L36 2012)
Includes coverage of all major patent law topics. Provides illustrative examples of complex patent doctrines. Also discusses the policy and historical underpinnings of primary patent law doctrines. 

Stephen M. McJohn, Intellectual Property: Examples and Explanations (LAW RESERVE, 2nd Floor, KF 2980 .M35 2015)
Provides extremely clear introductions to concepts followed by realistic examples that mirror those presented in the classroom throughout the semester.


Major Treatises

Donald S. Chisum, Chisum on Patents (LAW STACKS, 1st Floor, KF 3114 .C47 1944-current)
Available on Lexis Advance
33-volume treatise on patent law, including doctrines, rules and case law on issues related to patentability, validity and infringement. 

Carl R. Moy, Moy's Walker on Patents (LAW STACKS, 1st Floor, KF 3114 .D444 2003 - current)
Available on WestlawNext
This multi-volume treatise provides in depth analytical treatment of patent law
Secondary Sources
Martin J. Adelman et al., Patent Law Perspectives (2015)
Available on Lexis Advance
Analysis of developments in patent law and the effects of these developments on current and future practice. 

Irwin M. Aisenberg, Modern Patent Law Precedent (LAW REFERENCE, 2nd Floor, KF 3112 .A37 2014)
Available on WestlawNext
Dictionary that includes more than 2,000 terms and concepts related to patent law. Each term or concept includes references to relevant case law. 

G. Peter Albert Jr., et al. (eds.), 
Intellectual Property Law in Cyberspace (Supp. 2014)
Available on Bloomberg Law
Coverage ranges from the basics of how the domain name system works to updated analysis of jurisdictional issues. 

Eric E. Benson, Intellectual Property in Bankruptcy: A Collier Monograph (2012)
Available on Lexis Advance
Examines issues that arise at the intersection of bankruptcy law and intellectual property law. 

Kenneth J. Burchfiel, Biotechnology and the Federal Circuit (LAW STACKS, 1st Floor, KF 3133 .B56 B87 2010-current)
Available on Bloomberg Law
Provides an analysis of all of the most important Federal Circuit and Supreme Court decisions in the field. 

Donald S. Chisum, Chisum on Patents (LAW STACKS, 1st Floor, KF 3114 .C47 1944-current)
Available on Lexis Advance
33-volume treatise on patent law, including doctrines, rules and case law on issues related to patentability, validity and infringement. 

Donald S. Chisum, Patent Law Digest (2015)
Available on Lexis Advance
Contains concise summaries of precedential patent related decisions of the United States Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit and the United States Supreme Court from 2008 through 2012. 

Robin Feldman, Rethinking Patent Law (LAW STACKS, 1st Floor, KF 3114 .F45 2012)
Focuses on crafting rules that anticipate the bargaining that will occur as patent rights unfold. Discusses difficult issues in patent law, such as whether genes, software, and business methods constitute patentable subject matter, whether patents in the life sciences should control inventions that have yet to be discovered, and how to resolve the battles between pharmaceutical companies and generics. 

Sheldon W. Halpern et al., Fundamentals of United States Intellectual Property Law: Copyright, Patent, Trademark (LAW STACKS, 1st Floor, KF 2979 .H357 2015) 
Provides thorough treatment of complex material. Includes detailed citations.

Robert L. Harmon, et al., Patents and the Federal Circuit (2014)
Available on Bloomberg Law
Includes a break-down and analysis of important, influential, and up-to-date case law. 

Lois F. Herzeca & Howard S. Hogan, Fashion Law and Business: Brands & Retailers (2013)
Available on Bloomberg Law
Covers a wide range of legal and business issues faced by fashion industry participants, including designers, suppliers, manufacturers of apparel and accessories, and retailers.

Daryl Lim, Patent Misuse and Antitrust Law: Empirical, Doctrinal, and Policy Perspectives (LAW STACKS, 1st Floor, KF 3116 .L56 2013)
Looks at patent misuse and presents a qualitative analysis of modern misuse case law spanning 1953 to 2012. 

Ernest Lipscomb, Patent Claims (2014)
Available on WestlawNext
Covers the history and evolution of patent claims and includes statutory requirements for claims, general rules of construction of claims, and the expansion of the patented claims beyond their literal terms. Also explains the limitations of claims by court interpretation, the general principles underlying the drafting of United States claims to secure adequate protection, statutory classes of inventions, and the selection of claims.

J. Thomas McCarthy & Roger E. Schecter, 
McCarthy's Desk Encyclopedia of Intellectual Property (LAW REFERENCE, 2nd Floor, KF 2976.4 .M38 2004) 
Defines patent, trademark, and copyright terms of art and uses them in context. The encyclopedia also analyzes relevant cases and statutes and provides citations to more cases and IP treatises.

John Gladstone Mills III, et al., Patent Law Fundamentals (Supp. 2015)
Available on WestlawNext
Includes synopses of recent decisions by the PTO's Board of Patent Appeals and Interferences and the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit. Analyzes changes in the rules of practice before the PTO. 

Carl R. Moy, Moy's Walker on Patents (LAW STACKS, 1st Floor, KF 3114 .D444 2003 - current)
Available on WestlawNext
This multi-volume treatise provides in-depth analytical treatment of patent law

Gale R. Peterson & Derrick A. Pizarro, Federal Circuit Yearbook: Patent Law Developments in the Federal Circuit (2013)
Available on Bloomberg Law
Provides patent decisions and analysis published by the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit, covering a multitude of specific topics.

Lawrence M. Sung, Medical Device Patents (2015)
Available on WestlawNext
Addresses the unique aspects of U.S. medical device patents, specifically durable medical equipment, and examines their grant and enforcement.

John R. Thomas, Pharmaceutical Patent Law (Supp. 2014)
Available on Bloomberg Law
Examines both patent law and food and drug laws. 

Eddy D. Ventose, Patenting Medical and Genetic Diagnostic Methods (LAW STACKS, 1st Floor, KF 3827 .M4 V46 2013)
Explores the issue of patenting medical and genetic diagnostic methods in the United States. Examines decisions of the Patent Office Boards of Appeal and the early courts on the question of whether medical treatments were eligible for patent protection under section 101 of the Patents Act.  
Practice Materials
Andrew S. Balluch, et al., America Invents Act: Law & Analysis (LAW STACKS, 1st Floor, KF 3101.62011 .A2 2013)
Discusses how to find the correct effective date for important changes in the law, how the Act may be interpreted, and how the Act may affect your client.

David K. Barr, et al., 
Pharmaceutical and Biotech Patent Law (Supp. 2014)
Available on Bloomberg Law
Shows how to craft patent applications, partner with the government to bring patented inventions quickly to the marketplace, invalidate competitors' patents, protect against various forms of patent infringement, and successfully rebut charges that your clients are infringers. Includes detailed checklists. 

Gregory J. Battersby & Charles W. Grimes, Patent Disputes: Litigation Forms & Analysis (Supp. 2014)
Available on WestlawNext
Includes over 60 full-length agreements, with checklists and commentary, covering patent litigation in federal courts and administrative bodies.

Stephen A. Becker, Patent Applications Handbook (2015)
Available on WestlawNext
Discusses the procedures for filing and prosecuting applications. Describes what must be included in an application and explains the fundamentals of preparing a disclosure, drafting claims, and submitting prior art under the new rules.

Eric E. Benson, Patent Commentaries Analyzing the America Invents Act (2011)
Available on Lexis Advance
Helps corporate and outside counsel understand the impact of the Leahy-Smith America Invents Act (AIA). Includes analysis on the rolling effective dates of different provisions and guidance if companies should file patent applications while the old law is still in effect.

Brian G. Brunsvold, et al., Drafting Patent License Agreements (2012)
Available on Bloomberg Law
Guides legal professionals through all of the most crucial elements of any licensing agreement. 

Bryan W. Butler, Patent Infringement: Compensation and Damages (2015)
Available on Lexis Advance
Explains each step of the patent infringement process, from a finding of infringement to a determination of damages.  Examines how awards of damages are treated under accounting rules, and discusses the admissibility of evidence from expert witnesses respecting damages. 

Thomas L. Creel, Patent Claim Construction and Markman Hearings (2015)
Available on Bloomberg Law
Covers claim construction and the special procedures that have evolved to accomplish such construction. 

John de la Rosa, 
Attorney's Dictionary of Patent Claims (2015)
Available on Lexis Advance
Provides assistance in preparing patent applications. 
 
Irah H. Donner, Constructing and Deconstructing Patents (LAW STACKS, 1st Floor, KF 3120 .D657 2015)
Available on Bloomberg Law
Provides ananalysis of the patent process and provides the tools necessary to defend against patent litigation.

Irah H. Donner, Patent Prosecution: Law, Practice, and Procedure (2015)
Available on Bloomberg Law
Examines rejections from the U.S. Patent Office, and includes an analysis of the U.S. Patent Office's guidelines. 

Kenneth Dorsney (ed.), ANDA Litigation: Strategies and Tactics for Pharmaceutical Patent Litigators (LAW STACKS, 1st Floor, KF 3133 .B56 A753 2016)
Examines the intersection between the statutory and regulatory scheme governing approval of generic pharmaceuticals and U.S. patent law in the context of Paragraph IV ANDA litigation. 

Donald R. Dunner et al., Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit: Practice and Procedure (2015)
Available on Lexis Advance
Provides detailed coverage of the procedure for patent and trademark cases on review in the Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit from the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office and the U.S. District Courts. 

Harold Einhorn & Eric E. Benson, Patent Licensing Transactions (2015)
Available on Lexis Advance
Topics covered include royalty bases and rates, domestic and foreign patent licensing, assignments, territorial limitations and duration, termination of agreements, antitrust, U.S. taxation of domestic and foreign patent transactions, and government and university licensing. Also includes forms. 

Aline C. Flower & Wesley D. Blakeslee (eds.), 
Intellectual Property Technology Transfer (LAW STACKS, 1st Floor, KF 3145 .I58 2014)
Available on Bloomberg Law
Analyzes the relationship between industry interests and the research conducted in research laboratories. 

Dr. David Garrod, Garrod Patent Glossary - Chemical, Pharmaceutical and Biotechnology Arts (2011)
Available on Lexis Advance
Provides citations to cases that define specific words and phrases used in patent claims. 

Dr. David Garrod, Garrod Patent Glossary - Electronics, Computer and Business Methods Arts (2011)
Available on Lexis Advance

Provides citations to cases that define specific words and phrases used in patent claims. 

Dr. David Garrod, Garrod Patent Glossary - Mechanical, Electro-Mechanical and Medical Devices Arts (2011)
Available on Lexis Advance
Provides citations to cases that define specific words and phrases used in patent claims. 

David R. Gerk & John M. Fleming, New Practitioner's Guide to Intellectual Property (LAW STACKS, 1st Floor, KF 2979 .G47 2012)
Provides important background and history as well as information on prosecution and litigation for patents, trademark, trade dress, unfair competition, trade secrets, and copyright. Includes information on how to handle various aspects of IP ranging from procurement to enforcement. 

Barry L. Grossman & Gary M. Hoffman (eds.), Patent Litigation Strategies Handbook (Supp. 2014)
Available on Bloomberg Law
Provides discussions, analysis and planning behind every phase of patent infringement litigation, beginning with the initial client counseling through the filing of the Notice of Appeal. 

Henry B. Gutman, et al. (eds.) 
Anatomy of a Patent Case (2012)
Available on Bloomberg Law
Provides a detailed analysis of every stage of a patent case, from complaint to Federal Circuit appeal.

Ronald B. Hildreth & David Aker, Patent Law: A Practitioner's Guide (2014)
Available on Bloomberg Law
Discusses the legal framework governing patents, including federal regulations and court decisions; the widely accepted four-step test used by the courts to determine an invention's patentability; the various tests used to indicate direct infringement and other patent violations; and drafting techniques used to prepare the full variety of documents, including specifications and claims.

Todd S. Holbrook & Alan Nathan Harris (eds.), 
Model Jury Instructions: Copyright, Trademark, and Trade Dress Litigation (LAW STACKS, 1st Floor, KF 8984 .M63 2008)
Provides clear and balanced instructions for presentation to juries on copyright, trademark, and trade dress litigation. Individual instructions are followed by commentary that includes discussion of the cases from which the instruction was derived, as well as how and when to adapt the instruction to particular cases, to the laws of particular states, to the requirements of particular jurisdictions, or in light of inconsistent authority. 

Mark S. Holmes, Patent Licensing: Strategy, Negotiation, and Forms (2014)
Available on Bloomberg Law
Provides hundreds of adaptable sample licensing clauses and provisions. 

Ethan Horwitz & Lisa Hershman, Patent Litigation: Client Handbook (2012)
Available on Lexis Advance
Designed to explain to clients the nature and issues in patent litigation so they can become partners with counsel in the litigation and take a proactive stand. 

Lester Horwitz & Ethan Horwitz, Horwitz on Patent Litigation (2015)
Available on Lexis Advance
Discusses all stages of patent litigation; contains sample jury instructions; issues checklist and litigation forms. Offers tactical strategies for infringement suits and provides convenient checklists of black letter law for claim construction, infringement, validity, doctrine of equivalents and prosecution history estoppel.

Lester Horwitz & Ethan Horwitz (eds.), 
Intellectual Property Counseling and Litigation (2015)
Available on Lexis Advance
Built to give the general practitioner a tool in advising clients on various aspects of IP law. Each chapter covers a specific area of IP law in a way that someone unfamiliar with that area can quickly get up to speed and advise clients. 

Peter Seth Menell et al., Patent Case Management Judicial Guide (LAW STACKS, 1st Floor, KF 3120 .P38 2009)
Available at the Federal Judicial Commission
Offers suggestions for streamlining case management. Includes Supreme Court and Federal Circuit decisions. Discusses the ramifications of the America Invents Act for patent case management.

Edward Manzo, The America Invents Act: A Guide to Patent Litigation and Patent Procedure (2014)
Available on WestlawNext
Explains the major substantive patent law revisions, addresses major changes affecting litigation, reviews the four new trial proceedings at the Patent Trial and Appeal Board, addresses changes to non-trial submissions of prior art and other information to the USPTO, and focuses on the remaining changes to USPTO practice and miscellaneous provisions of the America Invents Act. 

Morgan D. Rosenberg & Richard J. Apley, Business Method and Software Patents: A Practical Guide (LAW STACKS, 1st Floor, KF 3133 .B87 R67 2012)
Addresses the drafting of business-method and software patents in the wake of Bilski v. Kappos. Includes a review and analysis of all relevant case law and USPTO guidelines. 

Jerome Rosenstock, Priority of Invention & the AIA (Supp. 2015)
Available on WestlawNext
Takes the user through the correct procedures of the pre-America Invents Act interference process and details the new procedures that are a part of the AIA. 

Terence P. Ross, 
Intellectual Property: Damages and Remedies (Supp. 2013)
Available on Lexis Advance
Addresses how to recover monetary compensation when an infringement has occurred and how to prevent further infringement. 

Faisal Shah, Corporate Counsel Solutions: Intellectual Property Management: Strategies and Tactics (2015)
Available on Lexis Advance
Discusses cybersquatting, IP licensing, patents, copyright, and trade secret protection. Also includes warnings, practice tips, checklists, and forms. 

Jeffrey G. Sheldon, How to Write a Patent Application (2015)
Available on Bloomberg Law
Explains, analyzes, and illustrates all the essential principles and techniques of drafting solid patent applications.

John M. Skenyon, et al., Patent Damages Law & Practice (2014)
Available on WestlawNext
Includes tips for evaluating a claim, strategies for patent damage litigation, and discovery techniques. 

Ronald D. Slusky, Invention Analysis and Claiming: A Patent Lawyer's Guide (LAW STACKS, 1st Floor, KF 3131 .S58 2012)
Presents a comprehensive approach to analyzing inventions and capturing them in a sophisticated set of patent claims. 

Matthew A. Smith, et al., Inter Partes Revocation Proceedings (2012)
Available on WestlawNext
Practitioner's guide to the statutes, regulations, and guidance that govern inter partes revocation proceedings including inter partes review, post-grant review and inter partes reexamination.

Gregory E. Upchurch, Intellectual Property Litigation Guide: Patents and Trade Secrets (2015)
Available on WestlawNext
Covers procedural and evidentiary issues that arise in patent and trade secret disputes and litigation.

Shashank Upadhye, Generic Pharmaceutical Patent & FDA Law (2015)
Available on WestlawNext
Starts with the principles of patent law and patent infringement and then adds the principles of FDA regulatory law. Discusses issues surrounding every aspect of generic drug development, approval, and litigation.

West's Legal Forms: Intellectual Property (Vol. 25) (LAW STACKS, 2nd Floor, KF 170 .W472 1981-current)
Available on WestlawNext
Contains forms related to patents, copyrights, trademarks, and entertainment industry agreements.
Study Aids
Study aid materials are located in the reserve area behind the Circulation Desk on the 2nd floor of the law library. 

Martin J. Adelman et al., Patent Law in a Nutshell (LAW RESERVE, 2nd Floor, K 1505 .A34 2013)
Provides a description of the fundamentals of United States patent law. Topics covered include claim construction, obviousness, anticipation, written description and enablement, infringement, and remedies. 

Alan L. Durham, Patent Law Essentials: A Concise Guide (LAW RESERVE, 2nd Floor, KF 3114.3 .D87 2013)
Explains the latest revisions to the protections and limitations of patent law, including recent Supreme Court decisions concerning the patentability of software, business methods, and advancements in biotech. 

Amy L. Landers, Understanding Patent Law (LAW RESERVE, 2nd Floor, KF 3114 .L36 2012)
Includes coverage of all major patent law topics. Provides illustrative examples of complex patent doctrines. Also discusses the policy and historical underpinnings of primary patent law doctrines. 

Stephen M. McJohn, Intellectual Property: Examples and Explanations (LAW RESERVE, 2nd Floor, KF 2980 .M35 2015)
Provides extremely clear introductions to concepts followed by realistic examples that mirror those presented in the classroom throughout the semester.

Charles R. McManis, Intellectual Property and Unfair Competition in a Nutshell (LAW RESERVE, 2nd Floor, KF 1610 .M354 2013)
Offers a broad summary of the law of intellectual property and the law of unfair competition. It also touches on related fields of law, such as antitrust, consumer protection, regulated industries, and the law governing interference with contractual and noncontractual relations.

Arthur R. Miller & Michael H. Davis, Intellectual Property: Patents, Trademarks, and Copyright in a Nutshell (LAW RESERVE, 2nd Floor, KF 2980 .M52 2012)
Provides authoritative coverage on the foundations of patent, trademark, and copyright law. 

Janis M. Mueller, Patent Law (LAW RESERVE, 2nd Floor, KF 3114.85 .M84 2009)
Clarifies principal legal doctrines, key judicial authority, governing statutes, and policy considerations for obtaining and enforcing a US patent

Gary Myers, Principles of Intellectual Property Law: A Concise Hornbook (LAW RESERVE, 2nd Floor, KF 2980 .M94 2013)
Comprehensive survey of the entire field of intellectual property, including copyrights, patents, trademarks, trade secrets, unfair competition, the right of publicity, and other areas of intellectual property protection.

Roger E. Schechter & John R. Thomas, Intellectual Property: The Law of Copyrights, Patents, and Trademarks (LAW RESERVE, 2nd Floor, KF 2980 .S34 2003)
Comprehensive treatment of all three major branches of intellectual property law, surveying basic principles and emerging issues. 
Case Law
BNA's Intellectual Property Law Resource Center - Patent Law
Available on BNA
Includes United States Patent Quarterly patent cases and cases from the Patent Trial and Appeal Board. 

BNA's United States Patent Quarterly
Available on BNA
Available on Bloomberg Law
Includes the full text of cases from federal courts and several administrative agencies

Robert A. Matthews, Jr., Annotated Patent Digest (2015)
Available on WestlawNext
Contains summaries of all relevant patent law decisions in the U.S. along with expert commentary. 

Kevin Russell, Federal Circuit Patent Case Digests (2015)
Available on WestlawNext
Summarizes and highlights every published decision of the Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit dealing with patent-related issues. Includes references to assist in drafting letters, jury instructions, and legal memoranda.
Administrative Law
BNA's Intellectual Property Law Resource Center - Patent Law
Available on BNA
Includes United States Patent Quarterly patent cases and cases from the Patent Trial and Appeal Board. 

BNA's United States Patent Quarterly
Available on BNA
Available on Bloomberg Law
Includes the full text of cases from federal courts and several administrative agencies

Patent Trial and Appeal Board (PTAB) Decisions
Available on Bloomberg Law
Available on Lexis Advance
Available on WestlawNext

Manual of Patent Examining Procedure (2012)
Available on Bloomberg Law
Available on HeinOnline
Available at the USPTO
Describes the laws and regulations that must be followed in the examination of U.S. patent applications. 

Official Gazette for Patents
Available on Bloomberg Law
Available at the USPTO
Published each Tuesday, contains bibliographic text and a representative drawing from each patent issued that week. 

United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) Forms
Available on Bloomberg Law
Available at the USPTO
Foreign & International Resources
Abe, Ikubo & Katayama, Japanese Patent Litigation (2012)
Available on WestlawNext
Discusses issues in the Japanese patent litigation system that differ from issues in the United States. 

J.W. Baxter et al., Baxter World Patent Law (2015)
Available on Lexis Advance
Covers the process of obtaining a patent and discusses the patent laws and rules throughout the world. 

BNA's World Intellectual Property Report
Available on BNA
Available on Bloomberg Law
Coverage of international legal developments affecting intellectual property. Updated continuously, with a review published each month. 

William Joseph Contreau & Jessica M. Sinnott, European Patent Law and Practice (2015)
Available on Lexis Advance
Provides an overview of European patent practice covering the European Patent Convention and how to obtain patents in European Contracting States. 

Rochelle C. Dreyfuss et al. (eds.), Intellectual Property: Principles Governing Jurisdiction, Choice of Law, and Judgments in Transnational Disputes (2008)
Available on Lexis Advance
Topics covered include: personal jurisdiction over the defendant, jurisdiction over subject matter and simplification, applicable law on title and transfer of rights, and recognition and enforcement of foreign judgments. 

Global IP Law Service Quick Charts
Available on Lexis Advance
Covers IP practice and proceedings guidelines for all 24 regions of the world. Provides easy comparisons for each country in a given region. 

Edward D. Manzo (ed.), Patent Claim Interpretation - Global Edition (2014)
Available on WestlawNext
Explores the approaches taken by major countries around the globe on how patent claims are intepreted. 

Michael N. Meller & William O. Hennessey, International Patent Litigation: A Country-by-Country Analysis (2014)
Available on Bloomberg Law
Contains separate sections for each country and looks into various issues, such as patentee rights, infringement, remedies, defenses, pretrial proceedings, interpretation of claims, settlements, and jurisdiction.

Andrew Rudge, Guide to European Patents (2014)
Available on WestlawNext
Discusses the current European Patent Convention (EPC 2000) and compares the processes and procedures of the European Patent Office to those in the United States. 

J. Sinder Stuart (ed.), Getting the Deal Through: Patents (2015)
Available on Bloomberg Law
Provides international analysis in key areas of patent law and policy. 

M. Hutton Susan (ed.), Getting the Deal Through: Intellectual Property and Antitrust (2015)
Available on Bloomberg Law
Provides international analysis in key areas of intellectual property and antitrust law and policy

Henry D. Teegarden (ed.), Patents Throughout the World (2015)
Available on WestlawNext
Comprehensive guide to the patent laws of more than 180 countries. Summarizes the patent laws of each country, lists the conditions under which patents can be obtained, and provides the complete texts or summaries of the most important international patent treaties. 

WIPO Lex
Covers the national laws and treaties on intellectual property of WIPO, WTO, and UN members. Also features related information which elaborates, analyzes and interprets these laws and treaties. 

WIPO-Administered Treaties
Full text and information about 26 WIPO-administered treaties, including the WIPO Convention. 
Patent Searching
Derwent World Patent Index
Available on WestlawNext
Includes editorially enhanced information on more than 20 million patent families. Covers 1963 - present.

Google Patent Search
Includes the entire collection of granted patents and published patent applications from the USPTO, EPO, and WIPO. US patent documents date back to 1790, EPO and WIPO date back to 1978.

Patentscope (WIPO)
Provides access to international Patent Cooperation Treaty (PCT) applications in full text on the day of publication.

PCT Patent Applications 
Available on WestlawNext
Includes patent applications filed with the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) pursuant to the Patent Cooperation Treaty, including related versions, such as republications. Covers 1978 - current.

USPTO Global Patent Search Network (GPSN)
Search the full text of multiple international patent collections.

USPTO Patent Application Full-Text and Image Database (AppFT)
Full-text and image versions of patent applications. 

USPTO Patent Full-Text and Image Database (PatFT)
Full text for patents issued from 1976 to the present and PDF images for all patents from 1790 to the present. 

USPTO Patent Classification
Includes the Cooperative Patent Classification (CPC) scheme and definitions; the United States Patent Classification (USPC) schedules, definitions, and the Index to the USPC; and the International Patent Classification (IPC) scheme, definitions, and catchword index. 
News & Current Awareness
BNA's BioTech Watch
Available on BNA
Available on Bloomberg Law
Coverage of regulatory and legal developments relating to biotechnology issues.

BNA's Computer Technology Law Report
Available on BNA
Available on Bloomberg Law
Coverage of legal issues affecting the computer technology industry, on federal, state, and international levels. Published twice monthly. 

BNA's Life Science Law and Industry Report
Available on BNA
Available on Bloomberg Law
Coverage of federal, state, and international legislation, regulations, policies, and standards affecting the life sciences industry. Published every other week.

BNA's Medical Devices Law & Industry Report
Available on BNA
Available on Bloomberg Law
Coverage of regulatory and legal developments affecting the medical device industry. Published every other week. 

BNA's Patent, Trademark & Copyright Journal
Available on BNA
Available on Bloomberg Law 
Coverage of important intellectual property cases, statutes, trends, and other key developments. Published weekly. 

BNA's Patent, Trademark & Copyright Law - Daily Edition
Available on BNA
Available on Bloomberg Law
Coverage of important intellectual property cases, statutes, trends and other key developments. Published each business day.

BNA's Pharmaceutical Law & Industry Report 
Available on BNA
Available on Bloomberg Law
Coverage of regulatory and litigation developments affecting the pharmaceutical and biotech industries. Updated weekly. 

BNA's World Intellectual Property Report
Available on BNA
Available on Bloomberg Law
Coverage of international legal developments affecting intellectual property. Updated continuously, with a review published each month. 

Landslide (ABA Section of Intellectual Property Law) (LAW PERIODICALS, Basement, K 12 .A637)
Available on HeinOnline
Provides in-depth coverage of IP law, with added emphasis on business, technology, the arts, legislation, and international developments. Published bi-monthly.

Official Gazette for Patents
Available at the USPTO
Published weekly on Tuesday, includes bibliographic information and a representative drawing for each patent issued that week.