Research Guides List | Databases List

Introduction
On January 31, 2017, President Donald J. Trump nominated Neil M. Gorsuch to fill the vacancy on the Supreme Court of the United States.[1]  Justice Gorsuch became a member of the Court on April 10, 2017.  Justice Gorsuch has longstanding connections with Colorado and Colorado Law specifically, having taught regularly at the law school since 2008.[2]
 
Below, you can find lists of, and some links to, Scholarly Articles, Books & Book Chapters, Cases, Congressional Materials, and Classes Taught at Colorado Law by or about Justice Gorsuch.
 
[1] President Donald J. Trump Nominates Judge Neil Gorsuch to the United States Supreme Court, Whitehouse.gov, https://www.whitehouse.gov/the-press-office/2017/01/31/president-donald-j-trump-nominates-judge-neil-gorsuch-united-states.
[2] Gorsuch, Trump’s Pick for Supreme Court, A Visiting Professor at Colorado Law, Colorado.edu, http://www.colorado.edu/law/2017/01/31/gorsuch-trump%E2%80%99s-pick-supreme-court-visiting-professor-colorado-law.
Scholarly Articles
Neil M. Gorsuch, Of Lions and Bears, Judges and Legislators, and the Legacy of Justice Scalia, 66 Case Western Law Review 905 (2016), http://scholarlycommons.law.case.edu/cgi/viewcontent.cgi?article=4658&context=caselrev.

Neil M. Gorsuch, Access to Affordable Justice: A Challenge to the Bench, Bar, and Academy, Judicature, Autumn 2016, 46-55, https://law.duke.edu/sites/default/files/centers/judicialstudies/judicature/judicature_100-3_gorsuch.pdf.

Neil M. Gorsuch, Law’s Irony, 37 Harvard Journal of Law & Public Policy 743 (2014), http://harvardjlpp.wpengine.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/01/Gorsuch_final-1.pdf.

Neil M. Gorsuch, A Reply to Raymond Tallis on the Legalization of Assisted Suicide and Euthanasia, 28 Journal of Legal Medicine 327-332 (2007), http://www.tandfonline.com/doi/full/10.1080/01947640701554468 (CU Restricted).

Neil M. Gorsuch, The Legalization of Assisted Suicide and the Law of Unintended Consequences: A Review of the Dutch and Oregon Experiments and Leading Utilitarian Arguments for Legal Change, 2004 Wisconsin Law Review 1347 (2004), http://www.heinonline.org/HOL/Page?public=false&handle=hein.journals/wlr2004&collection=journals&id=1361 (CU Restricted).

Neil M. Gorsuch, The Right to Assisted Suicide and Euthanasia, 23 Harvard Journal of Law & Public Policy 599 (2000), http://www.heinonline.org/HOL/Page?public=false&handle=hein.journals/hjlpp23&collection=journals&id=617 (CU Restricted).

Neil Gorsuch & Michael Guzman, Will the Gentleman Please Yield? A Defense of the Constitutionality of State-Imposed Term Limitations, 20 Hofstra Law Review 342 (1991), http://www.hofstralawreview.org/wp-content/uploads/2014/04/16_20HofstraLRev3411991-1992.pdf.
Books & Chapters
Bryan A. Garner et al, The Law of Judicial Precedent (2016).
Location: Law Stacks 2nd Floor
Call Number: KF 429.G37 2016
Library Availability: http://lawpac.colorado.edu/record=b653012~S0

Neil M. Gorsuch et al, Effective Brief Writing, in Appellate Practice Update 2013 (2013).
Location: Law Colorado 2nd Floor
Call Number: KFC 2355.Z9 A6764 2013
Library Availability: http://lawpac.colorado.edu/record=b628318~S0

Neil M. Gorsuch, Intention and the Allocation of Riskin Reason, Morality, and Law: The Philosophy of John Finnis (2013)
Library Availability: https://goo.gl/FSI64M (CU Restricted e-book)
 
Neil M. Gorsuch & Timothy M. Tymkovich, Effective Appellate Advocacy, in 2009 Colorado Employment Law Conference (2009).
Location: Law Colorado 2nd Floor
Call Number: KFC 2134.Z9 A56 2009
Library Availability: http://lawpac.colorado.edu/record=b326724~S0

Timothy M. Tymkovich, David M. Ebel, and Neil M. Gorsuch, Advice from the Tenth Circuit Judges: A Panel Discussion of What Works and What Doesn’t, in 2006 Appellate Practice in Federal and State Court (2006).
Location: Law Colorado 2nd Floor
Call Number: KFC 2355.Z9 A67682 2006
Library Availability: http://lawpac.colorado.edu/record=b311723~S0

Neil M. Gorsuch, The Future of Assisted Suicide and Euthanasia in America: An Argument Against Legalization (2006).
Location: Law Stacks Basement
Call Number: R 726.G67 2006
Library Availability: http://lawpac.colorado.edu/record=b307335~S0
Cases
Below is a selection of some of the most cited cases Justice Gorsuch has either authored or joined.
Dudnikov v. Chalk & Vermilion Fine Arts, Inc., 514 F.3d 1063, 1067 (10th Cir. 2008), https://www.ca10.uscourts.gov/opinions/06/06-1458.pdf.

Nasious v. Two Unknown B.I.C.E. Agents, at Arapahoe Cty. Justice Ctr., 492 F.3d 1158, 1160 (10th Cir. 2007), https://www.ca10.uscourts.gov/opinions/07/07-1105.pdf.

Cortez v. McCauley, 478 F.3d 1108, 1112 (10th Cir. 2007) (Circuit Judge Gorsuch, joining in part) (en banc), https://www.ca10.uscourts.gov/opinions/04/04-2062.pdf.      

Johnson v. Weld Cty., Colo., 594 F.3d 1202, 1206 (10th Cir. 2010), https://www.ca10.uscourts.gov/opinions/08/08-1365.pdf.

Andrews v. Heaton, 483 F.3d 1070, 1073 (10th Cir. 2007), https://www.ca10.uscourts.gov/opinions/06/06-6215.pdf.

Young v. Dillon Companies, Inc., 468 F.3d 1243, 1246 (10th Cir. 2006), https://www.ca10.uscourts.gov/opinions/05/05-1378.pdf

Regan-Touhy v. Walgreen Co., 526 F.3d 641, 644 (10th Cir. 2008), https://www.ca10.uscourts.gov/opinions/06/06-6242.pdf.

Hinds v. Sprint/United Mgmt. Co., 523 F.3d 1187, 1191 (10th Cir. 2008), https://www.ca10.uscourts.gov/opinions/07/07-3027.pdf.

United States v. McComb, 519 F.3d 1049, 1050 (10th Cir. 2007), https://www.ca10.uscourts.gov/opinions/07/07-5003.pdf.

United States v. Ruiz-Terrazas, 477 F.3d 1196, 1198 (10th Cir. 2007), https://www.ca10.uscourts.gov/opinions/06/06-2138.pdf.

The Congressional Research Service has compiled a report of Justice Gorsuch's opinions divided by topic and a report on his potential impact on the Court.  You can access those reports here: https://www.everycrsreport.com/reports/R44772.html and here: https://fas.org/sgp/crs/misc/R44778.pdf, respectively.

In addition, several websites and blogs have aggregated opinions of Justice Gorsuch by subject matter:

Administrative Law:
Immigration Law:  
Indian Law:
Religion and the Law:
National Security:
Extensive SCOTUSBlog Subject Compilation:
To find more cases by Justice Gorsuch, visit scholar.google.com, filter to the 10th Circuit and search for author:Gorsuch.  You may also use field searching in Bloomberg Law, Westlaw, Lexis Advance, or other legal research databases; please contact lawref@colorado.edu with questions.
 
Congressional Materials
Justice Gorsuch was nominated by President George W. Bush on May 10, 2006  to the 10th Circut and confirmed by the Senate on July 20, 2006.[1]  Listed below are senate materials related to that confirmation and other congressional materials related to Justice Gorsuch.

Confirmation Hearings on Federal Appointments Before the Senate Committee on the Judiciary, 109th Cong. 1-52 (2006), https://www.congress.gov/109/chrg/shrg32199/CHRG-109shrg32199.pdf.
 
[1] Judge Neil M. Gorsuch, The United States Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit, https://www.ca10.uscourts.gov/judges/judge-neil-m-gorsuch.
Classes Taught at Colorado Law
Below are courses Justice Gorsuch has taught at Colorado Law:

Legal Ethics and Professionalism: Fall 2016, Spring 2016, Spring 2015, Fall 2013, Fall 2012, Fall 2011, Spring 2011, Fall 2009, and Spring 2009

Antitrust: Fall 2015, Fall 2014, Spring 2014, and Spring 2013

Federal Courts: Spring 2012

Advance Appellate Advocacy: Fall 2010 and Fall 2008

Bioethics and Law: Spring 2010
Other Research Guides
Law Library of Congress, Neil M. Gorusch, http://www.loc.gov/law/find/gorsuch.php?loclr=ealln.

Georgetown Law Library, Supreme Court Nominations Research Guide, Nomination of Neil M. Gorsuch to Replace Associate Justice Antonin Scaliahttp://guides.ll.georgetown.edu/c.php?g=365722&p=4340145
Subject Specialist
Picture: Nick Harrell

Nick Harrell
Student Services & Outreach Librarian
Tel: 303 4924649

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files