Research Guides List | Databases List

GENERAL RESOURCES
UCB Office of the Vice Chancellor for Research's Funding and Awards Website:
http://www.colorado.edu/vcr/fundingawards.  Portal for internal and external funding sources.

University Libraries' Grants and Grant Writing Research Guide
http://ucblibraries.colorado.edu/how/grants.htm.   

Wise Law Library book resource: http://lawpac.colorado.edu/record=b135300.

Karen Cantrell & Denise Wallen, Funding for Law: Legal Education, Research & Study (Oryx Press, 1991)
​LAW REFERENCE 2nd floor  KF 266 .C36 1991
"Detailed descriptions of 497 funding sources available in the US, including fellowships for law school as well as grants for legal research and for legal services to community organizations and the underprivileged."  This is an older text, but many of the grant funding organizations it mentions are still operating.
SPECIFIC RESOURCES: External Funding
Through its Office of Contracts and Grants (OCG), the Office of Vice Chancellor for Research coordinates all externally funded sponsored research.  The OCG website: http://www.colorado.edu/ocg/.  Also, through its Office of Research Integrity (ORI), the Office of Vice Chancellor for Research ensures compliance with standards and regulations for scientific and ethical integrity in research.  The ORI website: http://www.colorado.edu/vcr/ori.
 
  • PREAWARD: These OCG staff are assigned to Law and will consult with Colorado Law faculty on proposal preparation and submission.  They require a mininum of 5 business days lead time.  Kathryn Snider, Senior Proposal Analyst.  Phone: 303-735-5581.  Email: kathryn.snider@colorado.eduAllison Fischer, Proposal Analyst.  Phone: 303-735-6754.  Email: allison.fischer@colorado.edu.  Powerpoint presentation for Law Faculty on April 15, 2015: Proposal Development Basics pdf
 


COLORADO

Colorado Grants Guide (annual, subscription-based): "The Colorado Grants Guide is Colorado's leading online tool for grant funding research.  This comprehensive resource guide contains over 750 profiles of local foundations and trusts, corporations, national funders, and government agencies that support Colorado nonprofit organizations.  The searchable database allows grantseekers to research funders and provides critical information like giving interests, application criteria, guidelines, deadlines, and past grantee information."  It must be accessed on-site in Norlin Library.

 

NATIONAL -- See also: Funding for Law Research pdf

U.S. Government Resources

 
  • Contacts: Helena Silverstein, Program Director.  Email: hsilvers@nsf.gov.  Phone: 703-292-7023.  Fax: 703-292-9068.  Jon B. Gould, Program Director.  Email: jongould@nsf.gov.  Phone: 703-292-7808.  Allison Smith, Program Specialist.  Email: asmith@nsf.gov.  Phone: 703-292-7094.
  • Program Solicitation (NSF 15-514) Guidelines (target dates: 8/1/16 and 1/17/17): https://www.nsf.gov/funding/pgm_summ.jsp?pims_id=504727.  "The Law & Social Sciences Program considers proposals that address social scientific studies of law and law-like systems of rules.  The Program is inherently interdisciplinary and multi-methodological.  Successful proposals describe research that advances scientific theory and understanding of the connections between law or legal processes and human behavior....Fields of study include many disciplines, and often address problems including though not limited to: Crime, Violence and Punishment; Economic Issues; Governance; Legal Decision Making; Legal Mobilization and Conceptions of Justice; Litigation and the Legal Profession."

To research ALL open federal government grants (Grants.gov): "Grants.gov is an E-Government initiative operating under the governance of the Office of Management and Budget.  Under the President's Management Agenda, the office was chartered to deliver a system that provides a centralized location for grant seekers to find and apply for federal funding opportunities.  Today, the Grants.gov system houses information on over 1,000 grant programs and vets grant applications for 26 federal grant-making agencies."
 
  • To track and manage National Science Foundation grants: "Research.gov provides grants management for the research community.  Research.gov will become the replacement for FastLane, providing quick access to research information and grants management services, all in one location."

To research ALL federal government grants that have been awarded previously (USAspending.gov): USAspending.gov is the publicly accessible, searchable website mandated by the Federal Funding Accountability and Transparency Act of 2006 to give the American public access to information on how their tax dollars are spent.  Federal agencies are required to report the name of the entity receiving the award, the amount of the award, the recipient's location, the place of performance location, as well as other information."


Commercial Resources

 
SPINPlus: Sponsored Programs Information Network (SPIN) Plus, a product of InfoEd, is a subscription database service that indexes funding programs (research grants, fellowships, publication support, sabbatical support, curriculum development, and more) from over 6,000 government, private, and nonprofit funding sources worldwide.  It may be accessed on campus OR remotely through CU-Boulder's VPN service.  SPINPlus Instruction Guide: SPINInstructions.pdf pdf

Foundation Directory Online: The nation's leading online funding research database, developed by the Foundation Center, a national nonprofit service organization.  Foundation Directory Online, updated weekly, is compiled from IRS information returns, grantmaker websites, annual reports, printed application guidelines, philanthropic press, etc.  It encompasses more than 140,000 foundations, corporate giving programs, and grantmaking public charities in the US.  Foundation Directory Online includes grantmaker profiles for the top 10,000 foundations and detailed grant descriptions searchable by ZIP code, congressional district, and more.  You can access the database on campus or by using VPN when off campus.   

 



 
 
Subject Specialist
Picture: Jane Thompson

Jane Thompson
Associate Director of Faculty Services and Research
Tel: 303 492-2705

SPECIFIC RESOURCES: Internal (Campus) Funding
(1) The Office of the Vice Chancellor for Research coordinates these funding programs: http://www.colorado.edu/vcr/fundingawards.  Contact: Lisa Kippur, Executive Assistant to the Vice Chancellor for Research, 303-492-2890 or lisa.kippur@colorado.edu.  See also, Victor M. Bright, Seed Grants, Competitions, Applications, and Awards (Sept. 2014) pdf
 
 
  • Distinguished Research Lecture ($2,000).  "The lectureship honors a tenured faculty member widely recognized for a distinguished body of academic or creative achievement and prominence, as well as contributions to the educational and service missions of CU-Boulder.  Normally, one Distinguished Research Lectureship is awarded each year. The recipient presents a lecture in the fall or spring following selection and receives a $2,000 honorarium."
  • Faculty Conference Awards (up to $3,000).  "The VCR awards a limited number of grants to support planning and hosting conferences at CU-Boulder on an ongoing basis throughout the year.  Conference grants provide partial support for organizing conferences that promote and encourage the scholarship, research and creative work of the Boulder campus faculty. These awards are intended to support one-time or initial events, rather than established and/or annual events."
  • Innovative Seed Grant Program (up to $50,000).  "The projects may take a variety of forms but must represent an investment in the future research, scholarly, or artistic vitality of the university and demonstrate promise for expansion of the project goals in the future. The projects can come from any discipline at the university, with those involving interdisciplinary work that will foster interaction among CU faculty particularly welcome.  The 2014 Innovative Seed Grant Competition resulted in 18 new grants for a total of $850,000 being awarded to Boulder faculty across all disciplines."
  • Limited Campus Competitions.  "Throughout the year, the Office of the Vice Chancellor for Research administrates several limited campus competitions. These competitions are required because several private foundations and national governmental agencies only allow a limited number of nominees from invited institutions, like CU.  The review process is conducted by an elite group of faculty who are invited by the Vice Chancellor for Research to serve on the OVCR Review Board. Based on their evaluations, nominees are selected to compete for these limited awards."
 
(2) The Graduate Committee on the Arts and Humanities (GCAH) (2 grants for research and travel of up to $3,000 each, and 1 grant to secure a visiting scholar of up to $1,500):
http://www.colorado.edu/ArtsSciences/CHA/gcah.html
Contact: Lisa Bailey in the Center for Humanities and the Arts, 303-735-0237 or lisa.bailey@colorado.edu.

GCAH provides support for individual research or creative work, special events, travel to further research or creative work, travel to present such research or creative work at venues that enhance one’s research and creative activity, and short visits by scholars and artists from outside the University.  Upon recommendation of the GCAH, the Dean of the Graduate School offers the following grants/awards:
 
  • Research/Creative Work grants (up to $3,000)
  • Special Event grants (up to $3,000)
  • Visiting Scholar/Artist grants (up to $1,000 for U.S. and up to $1,500 for international visitors).
 
All awards made by GCAH are contingent upon the availability of funds.  The Committee uses the National Endowment for the Humanities' definition of the humanities:

“The term ‘humanities’ includes, but is not limited to, the study of the following: language, both modern and classical; linguistics; literature; history; jurisprudence; philosophy; archaeology; comparative religion; ethics; the history, criticism and theory of the arts; those aspects of social sciences which have humanistic content and employ humanistic methods; and the study and application of the humanities to the human environment with particular attention to reflecting our diverse heritage, traditions, and history and to the relevance of the humanities to the current conditions of national life.”