Research Guides List | Databases List

Guide to Resources
Foreign and International Law Guide to Resources
Search the Library Catalog
All Items by Source

Document Compilations

HeinOnline Foreign Relations of the United States Restricted Resource Some full text available
This series presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity. It is comprised of more than 600 books beginning with Abraham Lincoln's administration in 1861 and continuing to the administration of Jimmy Carter in 1980.
Oxford Historical Treaties - Parry Consolidated Treaties Restricted Resource
Treaties concluded between 1648 and 1919, taken from The consolidated treaty series, edited and annotated by Clive Parry. OUP plans to add more treaties which were not in Parry's collection.

Government Documents

Oxford Reports on International Law in Domestic Courts Restricted Resource
ILDC covers international law as applied in the domestic courts of around 70 jurisdictions. The geographical scope is intended to be as broad as possible; ILDC currently reports on countries from every continent in the world and continues to add new reporters and new jurisdictions.
United Nations Official Document System
ODS covers all types of official United Nations documentation, beginning in 1993. Older UN documents are, however, added to the system on a daily basis. ODS also provides access to the resolutions of the General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council and the Trusteeship Council from 1946 onwards.

Primary Sources

EUR-Lex (European Union Law) Some full text available
Official Journal of the European Union, and it includes inter alia the treaties, legislation, case-law and legislative proposals.
Global-Regulation Restricted Resource
Contains index of more than 1.3 million laws and regulations (linking to the official full-text source) from many countries and data sources, providing exclusive access to machine-translated legislation (from China, Japan, Germany, Mexico, Denmark, Finland and more). Offers a unique analytic tool that illustrates the complexity level of a given search query across jurisdictions, using downloadable graphs. In addition, provides an integrated searchable database of 180,000 technical standards that allows one to search standards and find references of the standards in the legislation.
HeinOnline Restricted Resource
Full text and images of over 1,000 law journals, each from volume 1 to a few years ago. Other materials include U.S. Reports, the Federal Register, the Code of Federal Regulations, foreign and international resources such as English Reports, U.S. Treaties, world trials, and government documents such as session laws and legislative history.
HeinOnline Treaties and Agreements Library Restricted Resource
Hein's Treaties and Agreement's Library contains all of the U.S. treaties, whether currently in force, expired, or not yet officially published. Includes United States Treaties and Other International Agreements and sets from Bevans, Miller, Malloy and others.
Lexis UK & EU Journals Library Restricted Resource
Provided by LexisNexis, this database provides access to the law, commentary and news from the United Kingdom.
LexisNexis - Foreign & International Law Materials Restricted Resource
Extensive primary and secondary sources in international law. See this help page for description (select topic: international).
United Nations Treaty Collection
All multilateral treaties deposited with the Secretary- General of the United Nations and those formerly deposited with the League of Nations - their latest status and a link to the full texts. Bilateral and multilateral treaties registered with and published by the United Nations Secretariat in accordance with Article 102 up to a certain date - Detailed treaty references and full texts in all authentic language(s)

Treatises & Texts

PAIS International Restricted Resource
Covers global public policy and social issues including health, finance, education, technology, and the environment for the U.S. and abroad. Covers periodicals, books, hearings, reports, gray literature, government publications, Internet resources, and other publications from 120 countries. Coverage begins in 1972.

Journals and Indexes

Source OECD Restricted Resource
Provides full-text access to the Organisation For Economic Co-operation and Development's (OECD) books and periodicals since 1998 and its statistical publications. OECD, with 30 member countries, researches economic and social policy in areas such as macroeconomics, trade, education, science, environment, agriculture, technology, and more. The database includes all annuals, outlooks, policy reviews, conference proceedings, analytical reports, guidelines, and working papers. The books can be browsed by themes or searched. The periodicals section contains the full-text of OECD periodicals from 1998 onwards. The statistical section includes 25 statistical database titles, some including data from 1960 onwards. Statistical tables can be downloaded as Excel or CSV files.

Statistics/Data

Eurostat
Direct access to the latest and most complete statistical information available on the European Union, the EU Member States, the euro-zone and other countries.
UNdata
Currently contains more than 55 million records from the UN Statistics Division and other international organizations.The new UN data access system (UNdata) will improve the dissemination of statistics by UNSD to the widest possible audience. An easy to use data access system was developed that meets UNSD’s vision of providing an integrated information resource with current, relevant and reliable statistics free of charge to the global community.

Web Sites

Access UN Restricted Resource

Index provides access to United Nations documents including Official Records, masthead documents, draft resolutions, meeting records, UN Sales Publications, and the UN Treaty Series citations. Also included is the full-text of several thousand UN documents. Covers 1945-.


BNA - All Newsletters and Databases Restricted Resource

Legal, regulatory, economic & international law from the The Bureau of National Affairs. Includes email update services.


Handbooks & Guides

Foreign Law Guide (Reynolds & Flores) Restricted Resource
Provides bibliographic outline of the law and legal systems of non-U.S. countries.
GlobaLex
"GlobaLex is an electronic legal publication dedicated to international and foreign law research. Published by the Hauser Global Law School Program at NYU School of Law.

GlobaLex is committed to the dissemination of high-level international, foreign, and comparative law research tools in order to accommodate the needs of an increasingly global educational and practicing legal world.

The information and articles published by GlobaLex represent both research and teaching resources used by legal academics, practitioners and other specialists around the world who are active either in foreign, international, and comparative law research or those focusing on their own domestic law. The guides and articles published are written by scholars well known in their respective fields and are recommended as a legal resource by universities, library schools, and legal training courses. The tools available in GlobaLex will continue to expand to cover international law topics, countries and legal systems thus providing a coherent and encompassing research tool for all constituencies."
Research Guides and Books
Legal Research Methods, Laura Cahillane and Jennifer Schweppe, LAW STACKS basement KDK 110 .L44 2016 (UNITED KINGDOM)
This text provides a menu of research methods, primarily focused on methods used to support the preparation of a dissertation or other scholarly work.  This is not a work on how to conduct everyday legal research in the United Kingdom.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Nick Harrell

Nick Harrell
Student Services & Outreach Librarian
Tel: 303 4924649

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files