Research Guides List | Databases List

Introduction
The Law Library and the University of Colorado provide access to E-Books through several databases, including legal and non-legal based sources. This guide provides information about and access to the following:

Bloomberg Law Restricted Resource - (Legal Database, restricted access - law faculty and students only)

Lexis Advance Restricted Resource - (Legal Database, restricted access - law faculty and students only)

Westlaw Unrestricted Resource Resource contains video (Legal Database, restricted access - law faculty and students only)

Wolters Kluwer (Legal Database)

MyiLibrary - (Academic Database)

Oxford Handbooks - (Academic Database)

Springer  - (Academic Database)

Please note that each of these databases operates under its own rules for connecting with specific devices and formats. Issues concerning access, printing, downloading, etc., which are specific to each database are listed under the provider's listing below. Additional issues that may arise concern the type of Reader one is using: for instance, one cannot read Adobe documents on a Kindle (as of this writing). You will want to be aware of the platform and types of usage restrictions that may be associated with the specific device you have, but be aware that these will change rapidly and are not the focus of this guide. Please consult the website of your Reader for additional information.
Bloomberg Law / BNA
Vendor
Bloomberg Law (360 titles online; 1 in our catalog) and
BNA (847 titles available)

Content
Practice-oriented books by ABA, BNA, PLI (not course handbooks), Wiley, etc.

How to Access
Go to the Law Library Catalog, and run Title searches for “bloomberg law online” and “BNA online” to find direct links to books on Bloomberg Law or BNA that we may also own in print

OR

With your personal logon, sign on to Bloomberg Law. Getting Started>Books & Treatises. Browse lists by Publisher and by Practice Center. Search/browse within a book

Reading Device
Devices supporting a Web browser and PDF reader.

Restrictions/Format (Print/Download/Email)
BL: P/D/E 50 sections or chapters of a book at one time.

Formats:
RTF/Doc or PDF.
LexisNexis
Vendor
LexisNexis (Restricted Access - Law School Faculty and Students only)
LexisNexis  - 232 titles in our Catalog

Content
Legal Materials - Practice-oriented books by LexisNexis Publishing, Matthew Bender, Law Journal Press, CLE in Colorado, etc.

How to Access
Go to the Law Library Catalog and run a Title search for “Lexis online” to find direct links to books on LexisNexis that we may also own in print

OR

With your personal logon, sign on to Lexis Advance. Lexis Advance>Browse Sources>Secondary Materials>Treatises. Search/browse within a book.

Reading Device
Devices supporting a Web browser and PDF reader.

Restrictions/Format (Print/Download/Email)
P/D/E only one section at a time in Lexis Advance.

Formats
Word, PDF, etc.
Westlaw / WestlawNext
Vendor
Westlaw (Restricted Access - Law School Faculty and Students only)

Content
Legal Materials - Practice-oriented books by Thomson/Reuters, West, Aspen, Kluwer, WG&L, Carswell, etc. There are 534 titles in our collection.

How to Access
Go to the Law Library Catalog and run a Title search for “Westlaw online” to find direct links to books on Westlaw that we may also own in print,

OR

With your personal logon, sign on to WestlawNext. WestlawNext>Secondary Sources>Texts & Treatises. Browse by Topic or State. Search/browse within a book.

Reading Device
Devices supporting a Web Browser and PDF reader.

Restrictions/Format (Print/Download/Email)
P/D/E only one section at a time in WestlawNext.

Formats
Word, PDF, etc. WestlawNext allows exporting of documents to Kindles or Kindle Apps.
Wolters Kluwer
Vendor
Wolters Kluwer is a provider of over 20 legal titles to the William A. Wise Law Library.

Content
International Encyclopaedia of Laws. Contains topical reference works with country-by-country monographs.

How to Access
Go to the Law Library Catalog and run a keyword search for "kluwer law online" and follow the "electronic version" link.  

OR

Go to kluwerlawonline.com when connected to the law school internet.

Reading Device
Devices supporting a Web browser and PDF reader.

Restrictions/Format (Print/Download/Email)
P/D an entire national monograph on a topic, or a subsection of a national monograph.

Formats
PDF only.
MyiLibrary

Vendor

MyiLibrary, an Academic publisher, provides over 320 titles
 

Content:

Selected scholarly titles by Cambridge U. Press, Wolters Kluwer Law & Business, Oxford U. Press, Ashgate, Hart, Edward Elgar, Wiley, Palgrave Macmillan, and other university presses.
 

How to Access

Go to Law Library Catalog and run a Title search for “myilibrary.” Click on MyiLibrary or MyiLibrary PDA and browse through to a particular title with a direct link to the book. At the book screen, click on Return to Home to Browse by Discipline or search by keyword, publisher, or LC Class (e.g., Law).

OR

Go to UCB Libraries’ Catalog and run a Title search for “myilibrary.” Click on MyiLibrary link. Browse by Discipline or search by keyword, publisher, or LC Class (e.g., Law). Search/browse within a book.

OR

Connect to lib.myilibrary.com from a computer connected to the campus internet.
 

Reading Device

Devices supporting a Web browser and Adobe Digital Editions free software. Must enable cookies and JavaScript in your web browser.

Restrictions/Formats (Print/Download/Email)
Depends on publisher, but general rule is P limit of 60 p.; D limit of 10p. No email. When you go to print or save an ebook, there will be a pop-up window with the download/print restrictions.

Formats:
PDF, EPUB. Install Adobe® Digital Editions (ADE) on your computer in order to view or transfer the entire e-book to your e-Reader (Nook ok; Kindle not). Bluefire Reader app for iPad and iPhone can read ADE files when they are transferred through iTunes.
Oxford Handbooks
Vendor
Academic: Oxford University Press, (3 law titles coming soon)

Content
The complete texts of selected Oxford Handbooks in Law and other subjects. Each chapter in a handbook is referred to as an “article.”

How to Access
Go to UCB Libraries’ Catalog and run a Title search for “oxford handbooks online.” Click on Oxford Handbooks Online link. Browse by Subject (e.g., Law) or run a search. Click on the Books tab to browse to a particular handbook in a discipline. Search/browse within a book.

OR

Connect to the Oxford Handbooks website while connected to the campus internet.

Reading Device
Devices supporting a Web browser and PDF reader.

Restrictions/Format (Print/Download/Email)
P/D one chapter (article) at a time.

Formats
HTML (view), PDF (download).
Springer
Vendor
Springer (645 law titles accessible from UCB libraries’ website)

Content
Scientific, technical, and medical books in a variety of disciplines.

How to Access
Go to UCB Libraries’ Catalog and run a Title search for “springer e-books.” Click on Springer e-books link. Browse by Discipline (e.g., Law) and Subdiscipline (e.g., International). Search/browse within a book.

OR

Connect to the Springer website while connected to the campus internet.

Reading Device
Devices supporting a web browser and PDF reader.

Restrictions/Format (Print/Download/Email)
P/D one chapter at a time.

Formats
HTML (view), PDF (download).