Research Guides List | Databases List

Introduction
Copyright law provides legal protection for "original works of authorship," including literary, dramatic, musical, pictorial, graphic, sculptural, architectural and audivisual creations. Copyright refers to the group of exclusive rights granted to copyright owners for the protection of their works. This guide provides a list of sources that will assist in learning about, studying and practicing copyright law. 
Quick Resources
Introductory Resources


Mary LaFrance, Copyright Law in a Nutshell (KF 2995 .L34 2011)
Covers the fundamental concepts of originality, authorship, and infringement, as well as the highly technical rules governing digital phonorecord deliveries and digital public performance rights in sound recordings, the safe harbor provisions that limit the liability of Internet service providers, and the anti-circumvention and copyright management information provisions of the Digital Millennium Copyright Act.

Marshall A. Leaffer, Understanding Copyright Law (KF 2994 .L43 2014)
Incorporates recent case law and legislative developments focusing on the challenges of the digital age.

Stephen M. McJohn, Copyright: Examples and Explanations (KF 2995 .M35 2015)
Provides extremely clear introductions to concepts followed by realistic examples that mirror those presented in the classroom throughout the semester.


Major Treatises

Paul Goldstein, Goldstein on Copyright (KF 2994 .G6313 2005-current)
Goldstein on Copyright emphasizes emerging issues in information and entertainment technologies. Coverage includes: third party liability in a digital world, copyright infringement of computer software, judicial interpretation of copyright infringement of computer software, and secondary liability. 

Melville B. Nimmer & David Nimmer, Nimmer on Copyright (KF 2991.5 .N5 1978-current)
Available on Lexis Advance
In-depth, comprehensive analysis of modern U.S. copyright law affecting printed works, plays and motion pictures, music, artistic property, software and digital content delivered over the internet. 

William F. Patry, Patry on Copyright (KF 2991.5 .P38 2007-current)
Available on WestlawNext
Provides an encyclopedic contextual analysis of copyright law. Contains extensive discussions of remedial, jurisdictional, choice of law, and international issues. 
Secondary Sources
Howard B. Abrams, The Law of Copyright (KF 2994. A72 1991-current)
Available on WestlawNext
A two volume treatise that analyzes the history and current debates in copyright law.

G. Peter Albert Jr., et al. (eds.), Intellectual Property Law in Cyberspace (Supp. 2012)
Available on Bloomberg Law
Includes information on the basics of the domain name system and an analysis of current jurisdictional issues.

Eric E. Benson, Intellectual Property in Bankruptcy: A Collier Monograph (2012)
Available on Lexis Advance
Examines how IP property rights are affected when a party files for bankruptcy.

Stephen Fishman, Copyright and the Public Domain (KF 3022 .F57 2008-current)
Available on Lexis Advance
Available on Law Journal Press Online
Copyright and the Public Domain focuses on works that are not or are no longer entitled to copyright protection.

Paul Goldstein, Goldstein on Copyright (KF 2994 .G6313 2005-current)
Goldstein on Copyright emphasizes emerging issues in information and entertainment technologies. Coverage includes: third party liability in a digital world, copyright infringement of computer software, judicial interpretation of copyright infringement of computer software and secondary liability. 

Sheldon W. Halpern et al., Fundamentals of United States Intellectual Property Law: Copyright, Patent, Trademark (KF 2979 .H357 2011) 
Provides a comprehensive review of U.S. copyright law, including a thorough analysis of the America Invents Act. 

Lois F. Herzeca & Howard S. Hogan, Fashion Law and Business: Brands & Retailers (2013)
Available on Bloomberg Law
Fashion Law and Business covers a wide range of legal and business issues faced by fashion industry participants, including designers, suppliers, manufacturers and retailers.

J. Thomas McCarthy & Roger E. Schecter, McCarthy's Desk Encyclopedia of Intellectual Property (in Reference at KF 2976.4 .M38 2004) 
Defines patent, trademark and copyright terms of art and uses them in context. Includes analysis and citations to relevant case law.

Stephen A. Merrill & William J. Raduchel (eds.), (c)opyright in the Digital Era: Building Evidence for Policy (KF 2995 .C668 2013)
Available on National Academies Press
Copyright in the Digital Era examines copyright policy using case studies, international and sectoral comparisons, and experiments and surveys. 

Melville B. Nimmer & David Nimmer, Nimmer on Copyright (KF 2991.5 .N5 1978-current)
Available on Lexis Advance
In-depth, comprehensive analysis of modern U.S. copyright law affecting printed works, plays and motion pictures, music, artistic property, software and digital content delivered over the Internet. 

Robert C. Osterberg & Eric E. Osterberg, Substantial Similarity in Copyright Law (2013)
Available on Bloomberg Law
Comprehensive reference on the subject of substantial similarity. Examines the substantial similarity tests used by the various federal circuit courts.

William F. Patry, Patry on Copyright (KF 2991.5 .P38 2007-current)
Available on WestlawNext
Provides an encyclopedic contextual analysis of copyright law. Contains extensive discussions of remedial, jurisdictional, choice of law, and international issues. 

William F. Patry, Patry on Fair Use (Supp. 2013)
Available on WestlawNext
Provides an encyclopedic analysis of copyright, placing court opinions and statutes in context. Contains extensive discussions of remedial, jurisdictional, choice of law, and international issues. 

Terence P. Ross, Intellectual Property: Damages and Remedies (Supp. 2013)
Available on Lexis Advance
Addresses how to recover monetary compensation when an infringement has occurred and how to prevent further infringement. 

Bill Seiter & Ellen Seiter, The Creative Artist's Legal Guide: Copyright, Trademark, and Contracts in Film & Digital Media Production (KF 2979 .S45 2012)
Practical, user-friendly guide that explains essential legal concepts in a clear and thorough manner. 
Practice Materials
Compendium II of Copyright Office Practices
Available on Lexis Advance
Manual used by the staff of the Copyright Office as a general guide to its examining and related practice. 

Corporate Counsel's Guide to Copyright Law (Supp. 2013)
Available on WestlawNext
Includes information on major copyright laws, guidance on what types of works are copyrightable, copyright registration requirements and the "fair use" defense

Raymond J. Dowd, Copyright Litigation Handbook (Supp. 2013)
Available on WestlawNext
Practical, detailed guidance that walks attorneys step-by-step from client calls through the calculation of costs and attorney's fees. Includes sample forms, pleadings, motions, checklists and pratice tips. 

David R. Gerk & John M. Fleming, New Practitioner's Guide to Intellectual Property (KF 2979 .G47 2012)
Provides important background and history as well as information on prosecution and litigation for patents, trademark, trade dress, unfair competition, trade secrets and copyright. Includes practical knowledge on how to handle various aspects of IP ranging from procurement to enforcement. 

James E. Hawes, Copyright Registration Practice (KF 3004 .H392 1999-current)
Covers every aspect of the registration process, from what is copyrightable, to the selection of proper application forms, to handling problems that occur in registration. 

John W. Hazard, Copyright Law in Business and Practice (KF 2994 .H35 1998-current)
Available on WestlawNext
Discusses copyright and related property-protection laws; what can and cannot be copyrighted; protection for computer programs and elements; copyright ownership and rights conferred; notice, deposit and registration; licensing, transfers, termination rights and taxation of copyrights; infringement; remedies; and publication, licensing and Internet service agreements

Todd S. Holbrook & Alan Nathan Harris (eds.), Model Jury Instructions: Copyright, Trademark, and Trade Dress Litigation (KF 8984 .M63 2008)
Provides instructions for presentation to juries on copyright, trademark and trade dress litigation. Includes a discussion of the cases, as well as how and when to adapt the instruction to particular cases, to the laws of particular states, to the requirements of particular jurisdictions, or in light of inconsistent authority. 

Lester Horwitz & Ethan Horwitz (eds.), Intellectual Property Counseling and Litigation (2013)
Available on Lexis Advance
Assists in advising clients on various aspects of IP law. 

Bruce P. Keller & Jeffrey P. Cunard, Copyright Law: A Practitioner's Guide (Supp. 2012)
Available on Bloomberg Law
Explains major federal copyright legislation and related court rulings.

Faisal Shah, Corporate Counsel Solutions: Intellectual Property Management: Strategies and Tactics (2013)
Available on Lexis Advance
Practical resource for information related to a company's intellectual property assets. Discusses cybersquatting, IP licensing, patents, copyright and trade secret protection. Also includes warnings, practice tips, checklists and forms. 

United States Copyright Office Forms
Contains links to the forms necessary to register a copyright. 

West's Legal Forms: Intellectual Property (Vol. 25) (KF 170 .W472 1981-current)
Available on WestlawNext
Contains forms related to patents, copyrights, trademarks and entertainment industry agreements.
Study Aids
Study aid materials are located in the Reserve area behind the Circulation Desk on the 2nd floor of the law library. 

Mary LaFrance, Copyright Law in a Nutshell (KF 2995 .L34 2011)
Covers the fundamental concepts of originality, authorship and infringement, as well as the highly technical rules governing digital phonorecord deliveries and digital public performance rights in sound recordings, the safe harbor provisions that limit the liability of Internet service providers, and the anti-circumvention and copyright management information provisions of the Digital Millennium Copyright Act.

Marshall A. Leaffer, Understanding Copyright Law (KF 2994 .L34 2014)
Incorporates recent case law and legislative developments, focusing on the challenges of the digital age.

Stephen M. McJohn, Copyright: Examples and Explanations (KF 2995. M35 2015)
Provides extremely clear introductions to concepts followed by realistic examples that mirror those presented in the classroom throughout the semester.

Stephen M. McJohn, Intellectual Property: Examples and Explanations (KF 2980 .M35 2015)

Provides clear introductions to concepts, followed by realistic examples.

Charles R. McManis, Intellectual Property and Unfair Competition in a Nutshell (KF 1610 .M354 2013)
Broad summary of the law of intellectual property and the law of unfair competition. It also touches on related areas of law, such as antitrust, consumer protection, regulated industries, and the law governing interference with contractual and noncontractual relations.

Arthur R. Miller & Michael H. Davis, Intellectual Property: Patents, Trademarks, and Copyright in a Nutshell (KF 2980 .M52 2012)
Provides coverage of the foundations of patent, trademark, and copyright law. 

Gary Myers, Principles of Intellectual Property Law: A Concise Hornbook (KF 2980 .M94 2013)
Comprehensive survey of intellectual property law, including copyrights, patents, trademarks, trade secrets, unfair competition, the right of publicity, and other areas of intellectual property protection.

Roger E. Schechter & John R. Thomas, Intellectual Property: The Law of Copyrights, Patents, and Trademarks (KF 2980 .S34 2003)
Comprehensive treatment of all three major branches of intellectual property law, surveying basic principles and emerging issues. 
Case Law
BNA's United States Patents Quarterly
Available on BNA
Available on Bloomberg Law

BNA's Media Law Reporter
Available on BNA
 
Statutes & Legislative Histories
Statutes relating to Copyright Law are located in Title 17 of the United States Code 
(KF 62 2012 .A2) 
Available on HeinOnline
Available on the Legal Information Institute
Available on FDSys

United States Code Annotated (KF 62.5 .W45)
Available on WestlawNext 

United States Code Service (KF 62.5 .L49)
Available on Lexis Advance

Copyright Act of 1909
Legislative History of the 1909 Copyright Act (KF 2989.54 .A15 1976) 
Available on HeinOnline

Copyright Act of 1976
Omnibus Copyright Revision Legislative History
Available on HeinOnline

The Kaminstein Legislative History Project: A Compendium and Analytical Index of Materials Leading to the Copyright Act of 1976 (KF 2989.56 .A16 K35)
Available on HeinOnline

Digital Millennium Copyright Act
Federal Copyright Law: The Legislative Histories of the Major Enactments of the 105th Congress
Available on HeinOnline

Digital Performance Right in Sound Recordings Act of 1995
Digital Performance Right in Sound Recordings Act of 1995: A Legislative History of Public Law No. 104-39, 109 Stat. 336
Available on HeinOnline

No Electronic Theft Act of 1997
Federal Copyright Law: The Legislative Histories of the Major Enactments of the 105th Congress
Available on HeinOnline

Sonny Bono Copyright Term Extension Act of 1998
Federal Copyright Law: The Legislative Histories of the Major Enactments of the 105th Congress
Available on HeinOnline

Technology, Education and Copyright Harmonization Act of 2002
Technology, Education and Copyright Harmonization Act of 2002 - A Legislative History
Available on HeinOnline
Administrative Law
Regulations governing copyright law are found in Title 37 of the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) (KF 70 .A3) 
Available on HeinOnline
Available on FDSys
Available on the Legal Information Institute
Available on WestlawNext
Available on Bloomberg Law
Available on Lexis Advance
Foreign & International Resources
H. Bart Andrew et al. (eds.), Getting the Deal Through: Copyright
Available on Bloomberg Law
Provides international analysis of key areas of copyright law. 

BNA's World Intellectual Property Report
Available on BNA
Available on Bloomberg Law
Coverage of international legal developments affecting intellectual property. Updated continuously, with a review published each month. 

Paul Edward Geller, et al., (eds.), International Copyright Law and Practice (2013)
Available on Lexis Advance
International Copyright Law and Practice is an annually updated treatise that integrates the global analysis of international copyright with in-depth chapters on national laws. 

Global IP Law Service Quick Charts
Available on Lexis Advance
Covers IP practice and proceedings guidelines for all 24 regions of the world. Provides easy comparisons for each country in a given region. 

Intellectual Property: Principles Governing Jurisdiction, Choice of Law, and Judgments in Transnational Disputes (American Law Institute)
Available on Lexis Advance
Contains principles for resolving transnational intellectual property disputes. Topics include personal jurisdiction, subject matter jurisdiction, applicable law on title to and transfer of rights, and recognition and enforcement of foreign judgments. 

Adrian Sterling, World Copyright Law (3rd ed.)
Available on WestlawNext
Deals with the issues of copyright law in international and foreign law applications. 

M. Hutton Susan (ed.), Getting the Deal Through: Intellectual Property and Antitrust (2014)
Available on Bloomberg Law
Provides international analysis in key areas of intellectual property and antitrust law and policy

Silke von Lewinski, Copyright Throughout the World (2013)
Available on WestlawNext
Guide to the copyright law of a variety of nations. Topics covered include registration and formalities, scope of protection, presumptions of ownership, transfers, collective rights management, remedies, circumvention of technological measures and rights management information, secondary liability, and conflict of laws rules. 

WIPO Lex (World Intellectual Property Organization)
A one-stop search facility for national laws and treaties on intellectual property of the WIPO, WTO and UN members. Also features related information which elaborates, analyzes and interprets these laws and treaties. 

WIPO-Administered Treaties
Full text and information about 26 WIPO-administered treaties, including the WIPO Convention. 
News & Current Awareness
BNA's Media Law Reporter
Available on BNA
Media law cases on everything from FOIA to the First Amendment, covering opinions handed down by federal and state courts at all levels. Published weekly.

BNA's Patent, Trademark, & Copyright Journal
Available on BNA
Available on Bloomberg Law 
Coverage of important intellectual property cases, statutes, trends and other key developments. Published weekly. 

BNA's Patent, Trademark, and Copyright Law Daily
Available on BNA
Available on Bloomberg Law
Coverage of important intellectual property cases, statutes, trends and other key developments. Published each business day.

BNA's World Intellectual Property Report
Available on BNA
Available on Bloomberg Law
Coverage of international legal developments affecting intellectual property. Updated continuously, with a review published each month. 

Landslide (ABA Section of Intellectual Property Law) (KF 2972 .B85)
Available on HeinOnline
Provides in-depth coverage of IP law, with added emphasis on business, technology, the arts, legislation and international developments. Published bi-monthly.

NewsNet (US Copyright Office)
Free electronic newsletter that alerts subscribers to hearings, deadlines for comments, new and proposed regulations, new publications and other copyright-related subjects.