Research Guides List | Databases List

All Items by Source

Document Compilations

Colorado Courts Self Help Center
From the Colorado State Judicial Branch Website. Provides access to court records, small claims filing, educational resources, forms and other documents and additional resources.
Colorado: Office of Administrative Courts

The Office of Administrative Courts (OAC) is Colorado's centralized administrative court system. Most States and the federal government have established similar specialized legal processes within the executive branch. This structure enables both agencies and citizens to have certain disputes resolved while avoiding the time and expense of litigation in district court. In 1976, the General Assembly created the Division of Administrative Hearings as a central panel of administrative law judges ("ALJs") to decide workers' compensation, human services, licensing and a variety of other cases. 


Environmental Compliance in Colorado
Enviro.BLR.com offers you the latest legal analysis, tools, timesavers and so much more. This printable PDF guide is designed to help you get the most out of your subscription. Please take a few moments to learn about how your valuable subscription can make your job easier.

Primary Sources

Code of Colorado Regulations
The Secretary of State compiles and publishes the administrative rules of the executive agencies of the state of Colorado in the Code of Colorado Regulations. The official Code and Register published pursuant to § 24-4-103(11), C.R.S., can be accessed from this website.

Notices of rulemaking, proposed rules, new and amended rules, and Attorney General rules opinions are published monthly in the companion publication, the Colorado Register.


Colorado Attorney General Opinions
The Attorney General provides opinions on the interpretation of Colorado law at the request of state officials and departments. These opinions were based on the law as it existed at the time the opinions were issued. They may have been superceded by changes in constitutional, statutory, or case law.
Colorado Court Forms
Official court forms for use in Colorado cases. Provided by the Colorado Judiciary.
Colorado Courts Record Search Some full text available
CoCourts.com is Colorado’s most comprehensive source for court records, and was created as an initiative of the Colorado Judicial Branch to help citizens make better choices. CoCourts.com provides a simpler, more affordable way to retrieve information without making a trip to the courthouse. 
Colorado Executive Orders
Executive orders issued by Colorado's governor.
Colorado Register
The official publication of the state administrative rules. The companion publication to the Code of Colorado Regualtions.
Colorado Revised Statutes
The Colorado Revised Statutes made available for public use by the Committee on Legal Services of the Colorado General Assembly. Includes the United States Constitution.

Colorado

Colorado Legislative Council Research Publications
Searchable access to all Colorado Legislative Council Research Publications, legislation related to each publication, and information on performing legislative history research at the state and federal level.
Colorado Oil and Gas Conservation Commission
The mission of the Colorado Oil and Gas Conservation Commission (COGCC) is to foster the responsible development of Colorado's oil and gas natural resources.
Colorado Session Laws
“Colorado Session Laws” is a digital replica of the print Colorado Session Law volumes as published by the State of Colorado. All volumes were drawn from the William A. Wise Law Library’s collection and digitized with the permission of the State of Colorado.

Journals and Indexes

The Colorado Lawyer
Website for the official bar journal of the Colorado Bar Association. Access is restricted to members of the Colorado Bar Association.

Statistics/Data

Colorado Information Marketplace Some full text available
The Colorado Information Marketplace website, data.colorado.gov, is a great place to start when you need any information on the State of Colorado and its programs. The Information Marketplace offers maps, datasets, charts, calendars, documents, files, and forms from all State agencies. You can visit the Information Marketplace to find resources on the Colorado floods; legislative information; maps of services as well as statistical and demographic maps; and much more. A list of the site's most popular resources includes maps of state services; links to education data (SchoolView); black bear-human conflict area datasets; population charts; a map of Colorado's county seats; and more.

Organizations

Colorado Bar Association
The mission of the Colorado Bar Association is to improve the quality of its members’ legal practices, to support and improve the justice system, and to support the community through voluntary and educational endeavors.
Colorado Department of Local Affairs
DOLA works in partnership with local governments and communities statewide to provide funding for projects and disaster recovery relief. It provides state and federal funding to private housing developers, housing authorities, and local governments to increase the inventory of affordable housing, and works diligently to help our state’s most vulnerable population to remove them from homelessness. DOLA also provides expertise through technical assistance programs to help with community planning, property taxation, and tax appeals.
Colorado Legal Services
Colorado Legal Services is a non-profit corporation that has assisted persons with low income and seniors in the State of Colorado for over 85 years. The mission of Colorado Legal Services is to provide access to civil legal services to low-income persons and members of vulnerable populations throughout Colorado.
Getches-Wilkinson Center for Natural Resources, Energy, and the Environment
The Getches-Wilkinson Center seeks to serve the American West and the world by means of interdisciplinary research, teaching and problem-solving in order to further true sustainability for our land, water and air.

Web Sites

Colorado Attorney General
The official website of the Colorado Attorney General's office.
Colorado Ethics Handbook Formal Ethics Opinions
Formal Ethics Opinions are issued for advisory purposes only and are not in any way binding on the Colorado Supreme Court, the Presiding Disciplinary Judge, the Attorney Regulation Committee, or the Office of Attorney Regulation Counsel and do not provide protection against disciplinary actions.

Colorado Judicial Branch
Official website of the Colorado judiciary. Includes links to various state courts, judicial opinions, court dockets, forms, contact information and much more.

Colorado Office of the Governor
Official website portal for the Colorado governor's office and executive branch.
Colorado State Agencies
List of Colorado state agencies, including contact information. Provided by the State of Colorado.
Colorado: Official State Web Portal
The official website portal to Colorado's state government.

Newspapers

Law Week Colorado
Published by Circuit Media, Law Week Colorado is the state’s only newspaper published specifically for lawyers, law firms, corporate counsel and the judiciary. Law Week is written and edited by award-winning journalists and lawyers who have credibility in the legal marketplace. The print version, published weekly, features timely news articles and additional stories based on their editorial calendar. LawWeekOnline.com features excerpts of their print articles, as well as press releases and breaking legal news.

Almanacs & Yearbooks

Colorado General Assembly
The General Assembly includes two legislative bodies: the House of Representatives and the Senate. With careful deliberation that involves public hearings and, at times, vigorous debate, the two chambers enact new laws and revise or abolish existing laws; draft and approve the state government’s annual budget; and oversee the various state departments that deliver services to the people of Colorado.

This website includes the same searchable database that legislators use to find every bill introduced in the House or Senate over the last 15 years; other searchable databases for the Colorado Constitution and Colorado Revised Statutes, with laws dating back to the state’s founding in 1876; descriptions of the roles and activities of the legislative committees that scrutinize every bill; contact information for state legislators and maps of their districts; and information for visitors to the State Capitol in Denver.

Biographical Information

Colorado Practice Series
Print Location: KFC 1880 .C6
The Colorado Practice Series is a collection of treatises written by practitioners for practitioners. Published by West, it covers a wide range of Colorado law topics. The main treatise is entitled Colorado Methods of Practice. This multi-volume treatise covers many topics at a more general level. Other treatises in the set focus on specific subject areas such as appellate law, employment law and civil procedure among others. This is an excellent starting point for Colorado legal research problems. It provides descriptions of the law with helpful tips, commentary, forms and guides. 
note: Located in Ready Reference and Reserve. Available on Westlaw.

Directories

Subject Specialist
Picture: Robert Linz

Robert Linz
Associate Director & Head of Public Services
Tel: 303 492-2504